Databases starting with B

3 databases found for: Primary Sources X

Explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.  At completion, the database will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. It  is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues such as border identities, border enforcement and control, border disputes; border criminologies; maritime borders; human trafficking; sea migration; undocumented and unauthorized migration; and global governance of migration.

Coverage:
1558-1945

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters written between 1558-1945. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of sources.

Subjects include what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves; how frequently they attended church, how they viewed their connection to God, and how they prayed; their relationships with lovers, family and friends.

Approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials, drawn from 290 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. All age groups, life stages, and ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous are represented.

British History Online provides free access to selected core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.  McMaster does not subscribe to this resource, and access to a small proportion of the content is restricted.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email