Databases

17 databases found starting with V X

Coverage: 1997 to the present

Contains investment information and advice. The Standard edition tracks approximately 1,700 companies in over 90 industries. The Small and Mid-Cap section contains reports on 1,800 companies, most of which are smaller than those in the Standard edition (usually with market values from less than $1 billion to $5 billion). 

Number of Simultaneous Users:

6

Coverage: January 1, 2011 to 2 weeks ago

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Vancouver Sun from January 1, 2011 to 2 weeks ago.

The most current issues of the Vancourver Sun are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni

Coverage: 1968 to the present

One of the most extensive and complete archives of television news. Since 1968, the website has recorded, indexed, and preserved network television news for research, review, and study.  The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). NOTE: Video clips are not available online. Only asbstracts (or summaries) of televsion news are available to everyone.

Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge. All subjects across Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences are now available online in an easily discoverable, fully cross-searchable, and highly accessible format.

Coverage: 1830-1930

The goal of the Victorian Women's Studies Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML) and/or Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) Guidelines. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. 

This online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England, includes the following elements: Tablets - a searchable online edition of the tablets (volumes I and II); Exhibition - an introduction to the tablets and their context; Reference - a guide to aspects of the tablets content; Help - navigation and using the site. Also available are highlights from the tablets.

NOTE: First time user? Sign up for a Visible Body account to Sign in. This account has a 150 day password reset. Once signed in to Visible Body, Launch Anatomy & Physiology from the list.

Covers 12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive.

NOTE: First time user? Sign up for a Visible Body account to Sign in. This account has a 150 day password reset. Once signed in to Visible Body, Launch Human Anatomy Atlas from the list.

Covers anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality and more.

NOTE: First time user? Sign up for a Visible Body account to Sign in. This account has a 150 day password reset. Once signed in to Visible Body, Launch Muscle Premium from the list.

A comprehensive reference of musculoskeletal structures and function, plus common injuries and conditions.

NOTE: First time user? Sign up for a Visible Body account to Sign in. This account has a 150 day password reset. Once signed in to Visible Body, Launch Physiology Animations from the list.

More than 60 3D animations that illustrate body system functions, detailed physiology and common conditions. System overviews include: Endocrine glands and hormones, function of the skeleton, cardiovascular physiology, and special senses. Detailed animations include: Breathing rate, heart conduction, urine creation, function of the epiglottis, sound production, and skeletal muscle contractions.

NOTE: First time user? Sign up for a Visible Body account to Sign in. This account has a 150 day password reset. Once signed in to Visible Body, Launch Visible Biology from the list.

Learn and teach biology in immersive 3D. Use simple controls to engage with interactive simulations. Study 3D models from multiple perspectives. Watch bite-sized 3D animations that explain big concepts.

New

The Visual History Archive, created by USC Shoah Foundation–the Institute for Visual History and Education, is the Institute’s collection of audiovisual interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Contains more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. The interviews have been conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages. Testimonies have index terms at one-minute segments. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

Coverage: 2006 to the present, continuously updated resource

A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases at the point of care.

Coverage: 1892 to the present

Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Focuses on the lives and works of marginalized artists, predominately women writers of color living and working in North America. Includes author biographies, book reviews, academic essays, and interviews with women artists. A selection of pedagogical materials is also included to help instructors incorporate VG resources in secondary school and undergraduate classrooms.

Canada's national catalogue with holdings of thousands of Canadian libraries, including Library & Archives Canada.

Provides links, with annotations, to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources.