Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Community and Identity in North America offers perspectives on society, sexual identity, community building, and gender issues. This archive focuses on North America, with collections from Canada, the United States, and Mexico. It presents social history that casts a spotlight on diversity, equity, and inclusion with materials that cover activism and social justice issues, highlight disabilities in Queer society, offer information around alternative sexualities, document interactions between sexuality and religion, and represent diverse ethnic communities across North America. These collections detail how identities developed in different social conditions, and how communities grew around dedicated, sometimes courageous, individuals. Mainly unique and unpublished, the materials in this archive provides a more personal perspective.
Sources and content included in this archive:
- ArQuives — Canada's LGBTQ2+ Archives (Toronto, ON): Vertical Files — Canada; Monograph Collection
GLBT Historical Society (San Francisco, CA): Various collections covering Queer history, disabilities, race, and ethnicity - Biblioteca Daniel Cosío Villegas, Colegio de México (Mexico City, Mexico): Periodicals and books on feminism and gender studies, many with a particular focus on women's rights and roles in society, in Mexico, Latin America, and beyond
- Elihu Burritt Library, Central Connecticut State University (New Britain, CT): Various collections covering gay rights and religion, GLBT activism
