25 databases found starting with G X
Search across Gale's primary source databases, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), with links to additional content from ProQuest's Early English Books (EEBO). Individual databases can also be explored separately or in combination.
A database of almost 80 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Contains sequence and map data from the whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life (bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota) are represented, as well as many viruses, phages, viroids, plasmids, and organelles.
Covers worldwide literature on physical and human geography, geology, ecology and related disciplines. Contains references to over 1.1 million journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, etc. from over 2,065 journals and other sources. Includes abstracts.Subject areas covered include: cartography, climatology, energy, environment, geochemistry, geomorphology, geophysics, hydrology, meteorology, paleontology, petrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology, and volcanology.
Searchable, bibliographic database of geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present.
Covers worldwide literature in geology and earth sciences. Contains references to over 2.3 million journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses from over 25,150 sources. Includes abstracts. Subject areas covered include: crystallography, economic geology, environmental geology, engineering geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrogeology, hydrology, marine geology, mineralogy, oceanography, and paleontology.
Comprising more than 45,000 records of publications released by CCRS (Canada Centre for Remote Sensing) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors ... is now the repository for all Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) bibliographic information.
A searchable database to journals published by geological societies. Our subscription includes access to 36 fulltext titles, with key titles from the GSA, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Association of Canada, and more.
A cross-cultural database for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million full-page images. Trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.
A global listing of over 1 million names representing approximately 900,000 places and geographic features of the modern world. Maintained by the Getty Information Institute. Organized hierarchically from continents at the broadest level, to nations, states, regions and cities at narrower levels. Provides latitude/longitude, vernacular and English names, and source of information. Historical names and notes are provided for most major inhabited places.
Global Commodities provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
The fifteen commodities explored in this resource are: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. The collection offers information on subjects such as:
The only specialist database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature not readily covered by other databases. Includes journal articles, book chapters, research reports, conference papers, multimedia (e.g., image, audio, video) and more.
Includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present that are key to understanding today’s world including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.
Online full-page newspaper archive of The Globe & Mail from May 1844, current 4 years embargoed. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from Canada's national newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.
Globe on Screen 1&2, available from Drama Online, includes a selection of critically acclaimed performances at Shakespeare’s Globe, founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker. Dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare’s work and the theatre for which he wrote, Globe on Screen video collection contains 30 stunning stage productions representing over 75 hours of content. Recorded live on the Globe stage in high definition and surround sound, the videos feature performances from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier award-winning role as Falstaff in Henry IV.
The Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD) contains bibliographic data on the journal articles, monographs, book chapters, conference papers and other materials appearing in Gnomon, the German review journal covering classical antiquity. One of GBD's main features is its thesaurus of names, places, themes, and other terms associated with the ancient world. This thesaurus is organized hierarchically, with major entries for philosophy, epigraphy, topography, history, and more. Available in German or English.
Also available as a supplement to GBD is Gnomon Online - The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies. Available in German, French or English.
Google Books is a partnership project between Google and major libraries such as Harvard University Library, Stanford University Library, the New York Public Library, Princeton University Library, and Oxford University Library, as well as some commercial publishers. It allows you to search the content of hundreds of thousands of books and view the full text of books that are out of copyright and in the public domain, and portions of text from books that are still copyrighted. If a book publisher is directly involved, the publisher determines which portions (table of contents, index, sample chapters) are included and how much can be viewed.
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. Includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. To get links to full-text from your Google Scholar results (especially when off-campus), use the Google Scholar - with MacID login link or set up Library links in Google Scholar.
Search Google Scholar directly in the search box below, to avoid reCAPTCHA or Invalid Domain errors:
The U.S. GPO (Government Printing Office) Monthly Catalog of Publications consists of references to 507,000+ publications that deal with all subjects of interest to the U.S. government. Covers all types of U.S. government publications, including: Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records.
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
A free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 600 titles, and fulltext for more than 4,700 items from open access sources.
Grove Art Online contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study. There are ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister newspaper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
The most recent issues of The Gluardian are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases
The most recent issues of The Observer are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases