Databases

Designed for universities and colleges, this collection provides full-length Canadian video programs, documentaries, feature films, short edu-clips, and podcasts. Can-CORE partners with Canadian and Indigenous filmmakers, and provides a growing collection of content from indigenous filmmakers by and about Indigenous peoples and issues. An 'Indigenous Content Only' filter can be used with any keyword or browse search.

Includes the content of nineteen Canadian reference titles in a single online resource.

Includes content from a broad range of Canadian sources including scholarly journals, magazines, reports, news, radio & television transcripts and dissertations. Useful for research on hundreds of topics in the fields of business, science and technology, medicine, humanities and the arts.

Provides counts of Canadian business locations or establishments for a specific time period by employment size ranges, geography groupings and industry classification (NAICS). 

Brief profiles of over 2 million businesses in Canada, including private companies. Search by company name, by industry code (SIC or NAICS), by geography, etc.

The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to Canadian Census Data (both short and long form).

A collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Indexes publications produced by Canadian governments (federal, provincial, territorial & municipal), government agencies & departments, research institutes and government laboratories. Full-text of reports will be available in the Microlog microfiche collection in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor).  

An online directory for buyers and suppliers of industrial products and services (manufacturers, exporters, distribution and service companies) in Canada. Includes detailed product and service information from Canadian industrial and manufacturing companies of all sizes. 

Statistics Canada's site of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.

Career Cruising is a bilingual career guidance resource that features Canadian information on hundreds of occupations, career matchmaker exercises, training & educational opportunities at universities and colleges, and career portfolio and resume builder tools. The profiles typically include job descriptions, working conditions, education and training, earnings, and links to related occupations and other resources.

Includes daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities as well as information on "price adjustments" such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc. The database also includes daily and monthly indexes containing information on daily and monthly index levels as well as selected other financial markets information.

CFMRC TSX highlights: 

• expanded daily data set includes opening as well as closing data for: prices; bids; asks; trades; and volumes, amongst other information 
• expanded monthly data set includes: betas; earnings per share; volume; and transactions, amongst other data 
• expanded daily and monthly index data sets which include: a selection of interest and exchange rates; TMX Group indices; new under- and over- $2.00 indices, as well as other data

Provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. Both the 18th (2024) and 17th (2017) editions are available online. 

A full-text database containing working papers, journal articles, country data and maps,  policy briefs, special reports, research papers, videos, books, case studies, and current analysis & commentary related to international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. 

Content is aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centres, and scholarly journals. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) supplies country surveys with political and economic data and maps. More EIU content is available in the EIU Viewpoint database.

Communication Source supports research on mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.  Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and other periodicals.  Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,100 core titles and contains the full text for more than 700 journals.

Provides full-text access to Conference Board of Canada reports and recorded webinars. Research areas covered include economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.

Covers the health effects of consumer products for use by consumers, scientists, health care providers and regulatory authorities.  Search or browse by products, brands, manufacturers, chemicals, product categories and product types.

Provides a listing of federal corporations in Canada created under one of the following federal pieces of legislation:

• Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA II)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Not-for profit Corporations Act (NFP)
• Cooperative created under the Canada Cooperatives Act (COOP)
• Board of trade created under the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA)
• Other corporation regulated by Corporations Canada (e.g., special act corporation)

This database does not include corporations created under financial legislation (such as financial institutions, insurance companies or loan and trust companies) or those created under provincial, territorial or other corporate legislation. Corporations created under provincial/territorial legislation can be found by consulting Canada’s Business Registries

Articles from key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text.

CNTS contains more than 200 years of annual data in Excel format from 1815 onward, for over 200 countries, with 196 variables used by social scientists, academia, government, finance and media, including demographic, political, legislative, economic and social data.

Curio.ca provides streaming access to selected educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, with documentaries from television and radio, news reports, and archival material.  Both English and French language content is included.  Programs are pulled from the Doc Zone, The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, The Passionate Eye, and more.

Note:  McMaster's subscription does not include the BBC or National Geographic channel.