Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
January 2025: Web of Science Research Assistant (generative AI-powered tool) was added to the Web of Science Core Collection.
Coverage: 1900 to the present, but varies by database
The Web of Science Core Collection consists of several separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. Included by default are:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), 1975 to the present
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1900 to the present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1900 to the present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) - Science (CPCI-S) and Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH), 1990 to the present
- Book Citation Index (BKCI) - Science (BKCI-S) and Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH), 2005 to the present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), 2005 to the present
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED), 1985 to the present
- Index Chemicus (IC), 1993 to present
Indexes scholarly journals (including open-access titles), books and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains bibliographic information on all types of documents including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews. Information from these indexes can be retrieved by topic, title, author, publication title, year published, affiliation, publisher, and more. Cited reference (or bibliography) searching is also supported. All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
