Databases

An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.

Provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

The PEN System was developed by Dietitians of Canada, with input from thought leaders in dietetic practice, knowledge translation and technology. The database provides ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition. It offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice.

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.. Subject coverage includes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy and social philosophy. Geographic coverage is global with publications coming from more than 135 countries. Includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902.

Collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Includes an array of sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and advertising ephemera.

An e-book collection that focuses on primary care and clinical medicine. Includes a number of e-books featuring examination and board reviews. Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue.Users can create their own accounts to save searches, set up alerts, and bookmark titles. This collection also has a mobile feature.

An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.

Indexes over 4 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at colleges and universities worldwide. 

Contains thousands of full-text e-books across a variety of disciplines. To display titles accessible to McMaster users, use the "Book Status" filter and select "Owned and subscribed to by my library." 

Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue and in the standard ProQuest databases platform.

Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-1 through DSM-5),  the American Journal of Psychiatry and other psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.

Eleven online videos that feature demonstrations of a therapist conducting supervision with a student and an interview with the experts, conducted by hosts Hanna Levenson and Arpana G. Inman. An excellent resource for students learning how to supervise, as well as practitioners seeking quick references to improve their own supervision skills.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Anyone with access to the video library can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as it is done by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. This is a resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology and related areas in social work.

Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics. Covers over 1,800 international professional journals, as well as books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Beginning in 2001, many citations include references, their abstracts, and links to cited references.

The PTSDpubs bibliographic database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, includes citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other psychological effects of trauma.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Pre-filtered PubMed searches for clinicians: Search by Clinical Study Category, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics. After running one of these searches, you may further refine your results using PubMed's Limits feature. Results of searches on these pages are limited to specific clinical research areas. For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly.