Databases

Includes the content of nineteen Canadian reference titles in a single online resource.

Brief profiles of over 2 million Canadian companies, including privates. Search by company name, by industry code (SIC or NAICS), by geography, etc.

A collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Indexes publications produced by Canadian governments (federal, provincial, territorial & municipal), government agencies & departments, research institutes and government laboratories. Full-text of reports will be available in the Microlog microfiche collection in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor).  

Statistics Canada's site of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.

Includes daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities as well as information on "price adjustments" such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc. The database also includes daily and monthly indexes containing information on daily and monthly index levels as well as selected other financial markets information.

CFMRC TSX highlights: 

• expanded daily data set includes opening as well as closing data for: prices; bids; asks; trades; and volumes, amongst other information 
• expanded monthly data set includes: betas; earnings per share; volume; and transactions, amongst other data 
• expanded daily and monthly index data sets which include: a selection of interest and exchange rates; TMX Group indices; new under- and over- $2.00 indices, as well as other data

A full-text database containing working papers, journal articles, country data and maps,  policy briefs, special reports, research papers, videos, books, case studies, and current analysis & commentary related to international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. 

Content is aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centres, and scholarly journals. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) supplies country surveys with political and economic data and maps. More EIU content is available in the EIU Viewpoint database.

Provides full-text access to Conference Board of Canada reports and recorded webinars. Research areas covered include economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.

Provides a listing of federal corporations in Canada created under one of the following federal pieces of legislation:

• Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA II)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Not-for profit Corporations Act (NFP)
• Cooperative created under the Canada Cooperatives Act (COOP)
• Board of trade created under the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA)
• Other corporation regulated by Corporations Canada (e.g., special act corporation)

This database does not include corporations created under financial legislation (such as financial institutions, insurance companies or loan and trust companies) or those created under provincial, territorial or other corporate legislation. Corporations created under provincial/territorial legislation can be found by consulting Canada’s Business Registries