Databases starting with M

19 databases found
Coverage:
1905-2015

The Maclean’s Magazine Archive provides cover-to-cover online access to the prominent Canadian news magazine from its first issue in 1905 through 2015. Published weekly through much of its run, the magazine conveyed both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects of interest to Canadians.  Front and back covers are included, along with all advertisements, providing insight into 20th century social history.

Coverage:
1994 to the present

Includes the full-text of hundreds of market research reports from selected publishers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, SBI Energy and Simba Information.

Coverage:
1937-1967

The Mass Observation project collected information about everyday life in Britain during the mid-twentieth century, reflecting attitudes, behaviors, and public opinion. Created by three British researchers as a personal research project, its focus changed as it served the government during the Second World War and then emerged as a market research organization. The findings continue to be valued for their insight into British society, although sometimes criticized for the self-selecting methodology used to collect the data.

The online database provides over 2,000 File Reports (top-level summaries), Day Surveys from 1937-38, Diaries from 1939-67, and a range of Topic collections including: Household Matters and Household Budgeting, 1939-1950; Juvenile Delinquency; Korea, 1950; Radio Listening, 1939-1948; World Outlook, 1945-1950, Film; Reading Habits; Dreams; Religion; Victory Celebrations, and Capital Punishment.

Coverage:
1940 to the present

Provides searching of over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications on the web. Full-text of all reviews in Mathematical Reviews is available from 1940 to the present. The database also provides active links from reviews to the full-text of more than 120,000 online articles in over 190 journals (online journals that McMaster already has access to including those published by Academic Press and Springer-Verlag which are other CNSLP licensed services).

A cooperative catalogue of the film and video collections of Ontario university libraries. Faculty may request the loan of films for classroom use.  NOTE: The Interfilm Policy requires that we place an order with other institutions at least 10 working days before the show date. Typical loan periods are for 2-3 days only.

Coverage:
1200-1500

This primary sources database presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia; it also includes accounts of travel to and through the Holy Land.

Coverage:
Ovid, 1946 to the present | Web of Science, 1950 to the present

The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PubMed.

Contains health care information for patients and consumers.

Coverage:
1840s to the present, but varies by collection

Provides online access to global corporate documents useful for business history research.  It includes all of Moody’s/Mergent Corporate Manuals, Moody's/Mergent Municipal & Government Manuals, plus company annual reports from around the world.  

Coverage:
1990s to the present

Includes corporate and financial data for all publicly traded companies (both active and inactive) around the world.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

3

The MEROPS database provides a catalogue and structure-based classification of proteases (termed "peptidases" within the database), together with a wealth of additional information about them.

Evidence-base clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Micromedex includes: AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX System, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Index Nominum, Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, P&T QUIK Reports, POISINDEX System, RED BOOK Online, TOMES System, CareNotes, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.

A growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and an archive of materials from brain science conferences. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. New materials are added on a regular basis, and these additions are announced in the CogNet News service.

Provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.

Coverage:
1926 to the present

A major indexing database for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Coverage:
January 1, 2011 to 3 months ago

Search or browse issues (full page images) of the Montreal Gazette from January 1, 2011 to 3 months ago.

Coverage:
1970 to the present

Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.

Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Geographical and Subject Headings. The thoroughness of indexing and subject heading research, along with comprehensive coverage of the music field, makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both the novice scholar and the experienced academic.

New

Includes a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are the authoritative reference titles The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Baker’s Dictionary of Music, Baker’s Bibliographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio.

Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.

Historical content includes: ballads from the American Revolution, War of 1812, or the American Civil War; freedom and protest songs from the Civil Rights era; songs from the Slave Coast; Canada's history in song. Spoken word content includes: speeches, biography, memoir, drama (e.g. ancient Greek tragedies), poetry, language instruction.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

5

General Databases

New and Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for future subscription.

Pages

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email