Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff. Walk-in use by patrons not affiliated with McMaster is not permitted.
To access the Library's subscriptions, connect to Mergent Archives > select Begin Your Search button > in the left navigation menu, select Mergent Manuals to search Moody's/Mergent Corporate and Municipal Manuals OR select Annual Reports to search for international company annual reports.
Coverage: 1840s to the present, but varies by collection
Provides online access to global corporate documents useful for business history research. It includes all of Moody’s/Mergent Corporate Manuals, Moody's/Mergent Municipal & Government Manuals, plus company annual reports from around the world.
The Library's Mergent Archives subscription includes:
- Moody’s/Mergent Historical Corporate Manual Collection (1909 to present) includes:
- Bank & Finance Manual, 1928 to 2 years ago
- Industrial Manual, 1920 to 2 years ago
- International Manual, 1981 to 2 years ago
- OTC (Over the Counter) Industrial Manual, 1970 to 2 years ago
- OTC (Over the Counter) Unlisted Manual, 1986 to 2 years ago
- Public Utility Manual, 1914 to 2 years ago
- Transportation Manual, 1909 to 2 years ago
- plus supplemental content
- non-U.S. companies are included in the International Manual; all other Manuals include companies from the United States
- company profiles can include: history; business; properties; subsidiaries; officers; directors; long-term debt; capital stock; letter to shareholders; notes to financial statements; income statements; balance sheets; statements of cash flow; footnotes; auditors; general counsel; exchange and symbol; number of employees; number of shareholders; address, telephone and fax numbers; shareholder relations contact; stock price ranges; dividends; report of independent auditors; transfer agents; stock splits; and annual meeting date.
- search for any combination of Company Name, Manual and Year
- some of the resulting pages (images and PDFs) are not full-text searchable
- new manuals are added each year
- a microfiche collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals is also available at MILLS Library (2nd floor), near Government Publications
- Moody’s/Mergent Historical Municipal & Government Manual Collection (1918 to present)
- includes approximately 16,500 issuers of municipal securities
- although currently focused on the US, in the past (up to 1982) many international government securities (including those of Canadian cities and provinces) were covered
- provides historical perspective on each issuing entity, as well as statistical data, financial statements and full bond descriptions
- special features section in each volume include: Industrial, Transportation, Public Utility, International, Bank and Finance
- search for any combination of Issue Name and Year.
- some of the resulting pages (images and PDFs) are not full-text searchable
- new manuals are added each year
- a microfiche collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals is also available at MILLS Library, (2nd floor), near Government Publications
- Mergent Historical Annual Reports Collection (1844 to present)
- includes over 100 years of global corporate documents
- United States - over 370,000 documents
- Canada - over 150,000 documents
- International - over 500,000 documents
- search by Company Name, Year, Document Type, Country, State and/or City
- some of the resulting reports (images and PDFs) are not full-text searchable
- new documents (both current & historical) are added each year
- includes over 100 years of global corporate documents
