Databases

A multi-disciplinary database that covers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including podcasts, transcripts and videos.

Academic Video Online provides nearly 80,000 titles spanning subjects from anthropology to zoology. Curated for curricular relevance, this streaming video database includes feature films, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and demonstrations.

Browse by Channels to see what's available by subject or source, or search by title.

Contains images for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Five product categories are covered:  Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. Browse or search for ads by categories, company, product, date, publication, subject, medium, headline and audience.

This not-for-profit foundation website provides content "to enrich the understanding of advertising and its role in culture, society and the economy."

Website includes thousands of television commercials created or collected by D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency from the 1950s to 1980s. Search by keyword(s) or browse by company, title or subject.

Contains over 115,274 citations, with abstracts, to the literature on social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health; also includes selected consumer content.

First-ime user? Access requires an Esri ArcGIS account. To request an account, current McMaster students, faculty and staff should fill in this ArcGIS Software Request form or contact  contact libgis@mcmaster.ca. Once your account is approved, sign in to these products with the ArcGIS login (not Your ArcGIS organization's URL).

Provides location-based analysis that can be used for market planning, site selection, customer targeting and other decisions. Use web-based GIS (Geographic Information System) mapping technology to visualize demographic, lifestyle, behavioural, psychographic (e.g., PRIZM, Tapestry Segmentation) spending and business data for over 130 countries (including Canada). Data is derived from a variety of sources (e.g. Esri, Environics, Infogroup, Michael Bauer Research) and will vary for each country. Adding or importing your own data is supported.  Maps, charts, infographics and reports can be created and saved for any area.

The ArticleFirst database contains over 14.3 million bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 12,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and other popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. Records contain OCLC library holdings, and many include abstracts.