Databases

662 databases found

Coverage: 1200 to 1500

This primary sources database presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia; it also includes accounts of travel to and through the Holy Land.

Coverage: Ovid, 1946 to the present | Web of Science, 1950 to the present

The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PubMed.

Contains health care information for patients and consumers.

Coverage: 1845 to 2015

Provides digital access ( full color page-image format) to the backfiles of the following six major US and UK men’s-interest consumer magazines covering contemporary issues and trends in history and society, masculinity, sex roles, literature, sports, fashion, popular culture, entertainment, and more.

  • All Sports Illustrated Weekly (1919 to 1930)
  • Argosy (1882 to 1978)
  • Esquire [UK edition] (1991 to 2015)
  • M: The Civilized Man (1983 to 1992)
  • National Police Gazette (1845 to 1977)
  • Sports Budget (1923 to 1939)

Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or the publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some coverage gaps (issues / pages).

Coverage: 1938 (1st Yearbook) to the present

Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

Coverage: 1840s to the present, but varies by collection

Provides online access to global corporate documents useful for business history research.  It includes all of Moody’s/Mergent Corporate Manuals, Moody's/Mergent Municipal & Government Manuals, plus company annual reports from around the world.  

Coverage: 1980s to the present

Contains business and financial data on all public (active & inactive) and some private companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data, supply chain data, broker analyst research reports, and more. Investext is included in Mergent Online.

An information resource for peptidases (also termed proteases, proteinases and proteolytic enzymes) and the proteins that inhibit them.

IBM's evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. The interface allows users to search by drug, disease, or toxicology. Patient education information such as drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug comparison, and calculators are also available, in addition to the “Ask Watson” feature which allows users to search by asking natural language questions. Micromedex includes: AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX, Alternative Medicine, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer, DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, DRUGDEX System, Imprint Codes in Identidex, Index Nominum, Interaction Checking, IV Compatibility, Lab Advisor, P&T QUIK Reports, POISINDEX System, RED BOOK Online, TOMES System, CareNotes, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.

New
Trial
Coverage: 1958 to 1994

The content in this database is sourced from newspapers, journals, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as other nations with regional political, economic, and security interests. In addition to local and international news, it also includes government-level analysis and commentary. The database covers many topical categories, including the Israeli-Arab conflict, human and civil rights, international relations, terrorism, and others.

A growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and an archive of materials from brain science conferences. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. New materials are added on a regular basis, and these additions are announced in the CogNet News service.

Provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. It serves as a resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work, providing information on topics covered, editorial policies, contact information, and submission guidelines.  Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Coverage: 1926 to the present

Includes over 2 million citations covering literature, language, film, linguistics and folklore. Provides access to scholarly articles in over 4,400 journals; also covers relevant books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings and bibliographies. The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 77,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website.

Coverage: 1867 to 2 weeks ago | Recent covers January 3, 2011 to 2 weeks ago | Historical covers June 3, 1867 to December 31, 2010

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Montreal Gazette from 1867 to 2 weeks ago.

The most current issues of The Montreal Gazette are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni.

Coverage: 1970 to the present

A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.

Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Geographical and Subject Headings. The thoroughness of indexing and subject heading research, along with comprehensive coverage of the music field, makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both the novice scholar and the experienced academic.

Music Online: Listening provides high quality streaming audio to support the teaching and research of music. It currently provides over 11 million audio tracks, across all the key musical genres, and is growing as new recordings are added. Users will find recordings of classical, folk, world, jazz, and popular music from the world’s best labels, including Hänssler Classic, Chandos, Smithsonian Folkways, and more.

This resource incorporates Smithsonian Global Sound as well as these other collections:

Online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio.

Browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.

Historical content includes: ballads from the American Revolution, War of 1812, or the American Civil War; freedom and protest songs from the Civil Rights era; songs from the Slave Coast; Canada's history in song. Spoken word content includes: speeches, biography, memoir, drama (e.g. ancient Greek tragedies), poetry, language instruction.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

5

The official archive of the UK government. Facilitates search across archive catalogues held throughout England and dating from the eighth century to the present day. Holds more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the country.  Over 9 million records are available for download.

Coverage: 1901-1953

A compilation of works of literary merit, and important and significant books on philosophy, Religious Studies, History and other aspects of the Humanities The Bibliography covers the period from 1901-1953.

The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.   Sources include U.S. and international publications, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes.

Features streaming videos of films, clips and trailers from the National Film Board (NFB) collection, including NFB world-renowned documentaries, films that chronicle key moments in the lives of Canadians and works that take a stand on issues of global importance: the environment, human rights, international conflict and more. It also contains acclaimed Canadian dramatic features, documentaries, animated films, and experimental works.

Coverage: January 3, 2011 to 2 weeks ago

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the National Post from January 1, 2011 to 2 weeks ago.

The most current issues of the National Post are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases.

High definition streaming video of 50 National Theatre Live (U.K.) broadcasts, with notable productions of Shakespeare, as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. The database also includes exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.

Coverage: 2003 to the present

Covers dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Contains seven sub-databases: Food, Herbs & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Sports Medicine; Comparative Effectiveness; Manufacturers; Commercial Products and Medical Conditions.

Provides an online collection of recorded classical and jazz music delivered via streaming audio. Also includes CD covers, track listings, liner notes, composer biographical information, opera synopses and libretti.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

8

Contains the full text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research.

Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. E-books are also searchable though PubMed.

A Canadian labour relations database with a search and retrieval component for locating collective agreements.

A comprehensive collection of advanced neurosurgical techniques including text, surgical videos, lecture webinars, and neuroanatomical images.

This encyclopedia of the ancient world is intended as an aid to the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted influence on European and world history.

Health Sciences Library Databases

New and Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for future subscription.