Databases
The Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry (AACI), formed in 1945, was created to study the situation of Jewish survivors in Europe and the problems connected with their resettlement in Palestine. The committee was charged with gathering information and making recommendations on 1) the effect of Jewish immigration and resettlement on the political, economic, and social conditions in Palestine; and (2) the position of surviving Jews in Europe and the possibility of relieving the problem by repatriation or resettlement of the survivors in Palestine and other non-European countries. The committee called for a unitary state rather than partition based on ethnicity or religious profession. The records include AACI reference files, evidence submitted to the committee, transcripts of hearings, AACI reports, and papers of the Anglo-American Cabinet Committee.
Covers the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the early 21st century. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images.
This database offers the digitized archives of the Royal College of Physicians of London from ~1100 to 1980, and contains a range of searchable monographs, rare books, primary sources, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera produced by the researchers and members of the RCP.
The history of medicine from early origins in folklore through to the modern practice is represented in this collection, with strong connections to the medical humanities, the interactions between medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies which govern medical education and practice. The content is presented as digital images, with searchable text and metadata, on a platform which also allows for visual and textual analyses and is cross-searchable with archives from other societies in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
This database offers the digitized archives of the Royal Geographical Society from 1478 to 1953, and contains a range of primary sources, searchable manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data and ephemera produced by the researchers and members of RGS. The history of geography throughout the British Empire in all its aspects is represented in this collection, which also focuses on environmental history, exploration, colonization and decolonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies and cartography. The content is presented as digital images, with searchable text and metadata, on a platform which allows for visual and textual analyses and is cross-searchable with archives from other societies in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
Discover the creative decisions made by directors and designers at the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre Company. Explore how the works of William Shakespeare, his contemporaries, and other playwrights have been adapted, interpreted, presented and understood since the early twentieth century. Chart performance history through more than 1,400 prompt books, complemented by photographs, original designs, sheet music and production records for its most innovative productions.
