Databases

30 databases found starting with C X ReferenceX

Cambridge Companions are a series of guides to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. With over 600 titles and 4,000 essays, it offers subject or theme based cross-searchable collections, available in three sub-collections: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture, and Cambridge Companions to Music.

NOTE: Internet Explorer required.
Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction.  The following search functionality is available in WebCSD: full text and numeric searching, reduced cell searching, 2D substructure searching, and 2D structure similarity searching.  
More complex searches, including 3D substructure searching, can be performed with the desktop client applications (ConQuest, Mercury, Vista, etc).  Contact Jim Britten in the Chemistry department for more information on the client interface.

Cambridge Histories is a series reference works of over 400 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Coverage: Current

Includes the content of nineteen Canadian reference titles in a single online resource.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

1

Documents the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s. The Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art (CCCA) Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress with the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad.

The CCCA is also taking on additional projects containing information that informs and lays the groundwork for the core project. A wide range of previously hard to access material [images, texts, media works, and related ephemera]from a variety of sources across Canada is being assembled into the fully searchable, bilingual, database.

Currently contents: 54,000+ images and 600+ video and audio clips by 600+ artists and designers; and 1,600+ texts by 200+ writers and curators.

Coverage: Current

Brief profiles of over 2 million Canadian companies, including privates. Search by company name, by industry code (SIC or NAICS), by geography, etc.

Current and historical names can be searched in English or French for physical features as well as populated places. A search will return the latitude/longitude, feature type, region and NTS map reference. The location can be displayed on a national, regional or larger scale map. Queries can also be submitted for point-to-point distances and places within a user-specified radius of any location.

Coverage: 1844-2000

This database lists obituaries or death notices of Canadian medical personal that appeared in various medical journals listed below between 1844 and 2000.  In cases where the actual journal is available online, the title of the journal has a hyperlink.  Otherwise, you will need to contact a library to get the actual obituary or notice.

An online directory for buyers and suppliers of industrial products and services (manufacturers, exporters, distribution and service companies) in Canada. Includes detailed product and service information from Canadian industrial and manufacturing companies of all sizes. 

Searchable information about facilities, services and academic programs offered by Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada member universities as well as links, expert information, stats and deep content.

Provides access to comprehensive research-based cancer information and resources for cancer researchers, health professionals, patients and their families, advocates, news media and the public.

Career Cruising is a bilingual career guidance resource that features Canadian information on hundreds of occupations, career matchmaker exercises, training & educational opportunities at universities and colleges, and career portfolio and resume builder tools. The profiles typically include job descriptions, working conditions, education and training, earnings, and links to related occupations and other resources.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highligh concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). 

Includes seven browsable and searchable database of traditional ancient Chinese texts from the Pre-Han (pre 220 AD) up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD).

ChemDraw a leading chemical drawing application. McMaster subscribes to ChemDraw Professional, with tools to quickly create chemically intelligent, publication-ready chemical structures and reactions, or experimental notes and write-ups. Beyond a full set of chemical structure essentials (e.g., rings, bonds, chains, atoms, and functional group tools), ChemDraw Professional also includes 3D clean-up and 3D display improvements,1H and 13C NMR predictions, Name-to-Structure and Structure-to-Name functions, and integrations to SciFinder, Reaxys, and SciFinder-n. Peptide and nucleic acid chemists can also take advantage of the HELM Toolbar to easily represent biomolecules.

McMaster users need to be registered to download the tool and access the cloud applicaitons. Please use the Quick Start Guide to learn how to quickly register and activate your copy of ChemDraw and ChemOffice+ Cloud.

Search across ten chemistry dictionaries and databases, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. 

Combined chemical dictionary -- Dictionary of commonly cited compounds -- Dictionary of drugs -- Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds -- Dictionary of natural products -- Dictionary of organic compounds -- Dictionary of Food Compounds -- Dictionary of Marine Natural Products -- Polymers, a property database -- Properties of organic compounds 

Provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. Both the 17th (2017) and 16th (2010) editions are available online. 

Indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. 

A dictionary of Sinitic characters and compounds related to East Asian cultural, political, and intellectual history.

Coverage: Updated weekly

Clinical Overviews (formerly First Consult) is an evidence-based clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.

Provides full-text access to medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; FIRST CONSULT point-of-care clinical monographs; PROCEDURES Consult, systematic guidance of procedures integral to the practice of medicine; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines; Patient education handouts and CME materials.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. 

Coverage: 1999 to the present

The Cochrane Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of medical research studies. Focus is on evidence-based health care.

Coverage: 1900s to the present

The COLD Database is comprised of the USPA Permafrost Alert Program, Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, and Antarctic Bibliography.

New

Constellate is a text analysis learning and analysis platform supported by JSTOR Labs and ITHAKA. Through Constellate, McMaster members have access to: 

  • A comprehensive set of interactive Jupyter Notebook-based tutorials for text analysis.
  • Analytical access to content from 35+ million articles, books, and newspapers from JSTOR, Portico, Chronicling America, and other sources.
  • A computational platform to develop notebooks and collect, create, analyze, and store data.
  • Access to workshops and advanced support.

To sign up and pair your account to McMaster:

Covers the health effects of consumer products for use by consumers, scientists, health care providers and regulatory authorities.  Search or browse by products, brands, manufacturers, chemicals, product categories and product types.

Provides a listing of federal corporations in Canada created under one of the following federal pieces of legislation:

  • Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)
  • Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA II)
  • Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Not-for profit Corporations Act (NFP)
  • Cooperative created under the Canada Cooperatives Act (COOP)
  • Board of trade created under the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA)
  • Other corporation regulated by Corporations Canada (e.g., special act corporation)

This database does not include corporations created under financial legislation (such as financial institutions, insurance companies or loan and trust companies) or those created under provincial, territorial or other corporate legislation. Corporations created under provincial/territorial legislation can be found by consulting Canada’s Business Registries

Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references.

Coverage: 1995 to the present

Contains approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada. CPG Infobase is maintained by Joule.

An authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. It is considered the Canadian standard for drug and therapeutic information. Includes information on all Canadian drugs and any issues pulled from the market. Also includes access to the Canadian Pharmacists Association’s (CPhA) publications Therapeutic Choices, the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, and Information for Patients, in addition to Lexi-Interact. Search by condition or by drug information.