Databases

58 databases found starting with A X

Coverage: 1917 to the present

NOTE: PTTC Tech Place articles are not included with McMaster's subscription.
Full text access to papers from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and over 40 regional publishers.  Major publications that can be retrieved from the database include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, and Journal of Sedimentary Research, with coverage from 1917 onwards. 

Coverage: 1970 to the present

Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide coverage of anthropological scholarship in the following subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology and Linguistics.

Coverage: 1980 to the present, but varies by title

A multi-disciplinary database that covers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including podcasts, transcripts and videos.

Includes over 200 engineering reference sources, with the latest editions of Marks Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.

Coverage: 18th century to the early 20th century

Primary source material from the 18th century to the early 20th century devoted to American history, particularly strong in African American newspapers, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Women's Suffrage, and World War I. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Databases are encyclopedic in scope and allow full Boolean, group, name, string, and truncated searches. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. Click on the "i" icon to view a full list of collections.

Collection of online textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Repository contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.

Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Contains landmark neurology references including Principles of Neural Science. Also contains a multimedia library featuring an interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas as well as videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring, Other online learning tools include case and self-assessment reviews, a drug database, and a 3-D brain anatomy tool.

An integrated online resource that provides medical students, pediatric residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions.

Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including an interactive program entitled: Anatomy & Physiology Revealed.

A federated search designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.

Coverage: 1945 to the present
Notes: McMaster is losing access to AccessUN by February 2023. Please use alternative resources for UN documations and publications, including Official Document System of the United Nations, United Nations Digital Library and United Nations iLibrary. If you have any questions or concerns, please send to Wei Zhang (zhangw94@mcmaster.ca).

One of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology.

With more than 1,000,000 human-edited definitions, Acronym Finder is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. The entries are classified into categories such as Information Technology, Military & Government, Business & Finance, Science & Medicine, Organizations & Schools, Slang & Pop Culture. It also contains a database of US and Canadian postal codes.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications provides full text, full image access to most of the ACS journals and their supplementary materials. Coverage includes articles from year of first issue (some begin as early as 1879) up to the current issue. Updated continuously.

Coverage: 1911-1955

Contains images for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Five product categories are covered:  Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. Browse or search for ads by categories, company, product, date, publication, subject, medium, headline and audience.

This not-for-profit foundation website provides content "to enrich the understanding of advertising and its role in culture, society and the economy."

Coverage: 1950s-1980s

Website includes thousands of television commercials created or collected by D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency from the 1950s to 1980s. Search by keyword(s) or browse by company, title or subject.

Coverage: 1860 to the present

Covers migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the database includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

Coverage: 1750 to 1900

Includes nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Coverage: 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977

Contains over 115,274 citations, with abstracts, to the literature on social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health; also includes selected consumer content.

Searchable database of bibliographic information about all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. There are two databases, one for books and one for articles which can be searched separately or simultaneously.

Altmetric is a system that tracks the attention that research outputs such as scholarly articles and data sets receive online.  It pulls data from 

  • Social media such as Twitter and Facebook
  • Traditional media - both mainstream (e.g., The Guradian, New York Times) and field specific (e.g., New Scientist, Bird Watching).  Many non-English language titles are covered.
  • Blogs - both major organizations and individual researchers
  • Online reference managers such as Mendeley and CiteULike

McMaster users have access to the licensed version of Altmetric Explorer for Institutions, which provides a McMaster-wide view of the online activity surrounding academic research at the institution.

Researchers, research support staff, and administrators can explore attention on scholarly works, browse by author, group or department for their own institution, benchmark against peer organizations, report on the outcomes of outreach activity, and integrate the insights the data provides into evaluation and review processes.

NOTE: The Library has subscribed to Struggles for Freedom, but not the African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes collection.
This primary sources database provides over 180,000 pages of documents and images focusing on the liberation struggles in southern Africa, with an initial concentration on Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe.  Contents include periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.  

Coverage: 1985 to the present

A bibliographic database of journal articles in fields allied to medicine and alternatives to conventional medicine. An Ovid database.

Coverage: 1860s to the present

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Include 450,000+ citations and abstracts from over 2,000 journals; also includes book and media reviews and dissertations.

Coverage: 1684-1912

The AAS collection provides some 7600 distinct North-American-focused historical periodicals, published between 1684 and 1912.  Titles cover a range of subject areas, including, but not limited to: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities.  A small number of Canadian publications, primarily from the mid 19th Century, are also included.

American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Most of the scripts have never been published before, and are not otherwise available online.

The rationale behind the database is not only to provide access to many previously unpublished screenplays, but to allow scripts to become part of the established corpus of literary works. Legal, authoritative versions of these screenplays will, the producers hope, be consulted by a wide range of scholars, including historians, sociologists, and those who study literature.

This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, and the European Journal of Mineralogy.

Biographical dictionary of more than 19,000 notable American men and women from all eras of American history and culture who are deceased. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.

Coverage: 1600 to 900

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.