Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
Access to the Explorer Interface ends December 31, 2024
Note: Access to the Explorer Interface ends December 31, 2024. AM Explorer allows you to search across all of McMaster’s primary source databases from Adam Matthew. These databases cover a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences, and include manuscripts, letters, diaries, pamphlets, newspapers, artistic works, films and videos, advertisements, photographs, maps, and ephemera. Materials are sourced from archives, museums, and cultural heritage institutions around the world. Since Adam Matthew originated as a British company, many databases reflect British content and perspectives.
Databases included:
- 1980s Culture and Society
- Africa and the New Imperialism
- African American Communities
- Age of Exploration
- America in World War Two
- American History, 1493-1945
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- American West
- Amnesty International Archives
- Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
- British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film
- Broadcasting America
- Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922
- Children's Literature and Culture
- China, America and the Pacific
- China: Culture and Society
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals
- Colonial America
- Colonial Caribbean
- Confidential Print Africa, 1834-1966
- Confidential Print, Latin America, 1833-1969
- Confidential Print, Middle East, 1839-1969
- Confidential Print, North America, 1824-1961
- Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia
- Defining Gender
- Early Modern England
- East India Company
- Eighteenth Century Drama
- Eighteenth Century Journals
- Empire Online
- Ethnomusicology
- Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
- First World War Portal
- Food and Drink in History
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan
- Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
- Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
- Frontier Life
- Gender: Identity and Social Change
- The Gilded Age and Progressive Era
- Global Commodities
- The Grand Tour
- India, Raj and Empire
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America
- Interwar Culture
- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America
- Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
- Literary Manuscripts Berg
- Literary Manuscripts Leeds
- Literary Print Culture
- London Low Life
- MacMillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
- Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
- Mass Observation Online
- Mass Observation Project
- Medical Services And Warfare
- Medieval Family Life
- Medieval Travel Writing
- Meiji Japan
- Migration to New Worlds
- Nineteenth Century Literary Society
- The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
- Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
- Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain
- Race Relations in America
- Research Methods Primary Sources
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
- Royal Shakespeare Company Archives
- Service Newspapers of World War Two
- Sex and Sexuality
- Shakespeare in Performance
- Shakespeare's Globe Archive
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
- Socialism on Film
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
- Victorians on Film
- Victorian Popular Culture
- Virginia Company Archives
- Women in the National Archives
- World's Fairs
