NOTE: PTTC Tech Place articles are not included with McMaster's subscription.
Full text access to papers from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and over 40 regional publishers. Major publications that can be retrieved from the database include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, and Journal of Sedimentary Research, with coverage from 1917 onwards.
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide coverage of anthropological scholarship in the following subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology and Linguistics.
A multi-disciplinary database that covers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including podcasts, transcripts and videos.
Primary source material from the 18th century to the early 20th century devoted to American history, particularly strong in African American newspapers, the Civil War, Reconstruction, Women's Suffrage, and World War I. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Databases are encyclopedic in scope and allow full Boolean, group, name, string, and truncated searches. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. Click on the "i" icon to view a full list of collections.
A federated search designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
One of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications provides full text, full image access to most of the ACS journals and their supplementary materials. Coverage includes articles from year of first issue (some begin as early as 1879) up to the current issue. Updated continuously.
Africa Commons is a platform for discovering African historical and cultural materials held by organizations around the world. It searches across over 450,000 documents from over 4,500 collections and over 600 organizations, including libraries, museums, and archives, and then it links outward to the web repositories where the documents are located. Material types include books, magazines, newspapers, historical periodicals, government documents, manuscripts, letters, diaries, posters, photographs, ephemera, art, music, videos, oral histories, and more.
McMaster has access to three modules: "Black South African Magazines", "History & Culture", and "Southern African Films and Documentaries".
Contains over 115,274 citations, with abstracts, to the literature on social gerontology, as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health; also includes selected consumer content.
NOTE: The Library has subscribed to Struggles for Freedom, but not the African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes collection.
This primary sources database provides over 180,000 pages of documents and images focusing on the liberation struggles in southern Africa, with an initial concentration on Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe. Contents include periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.
A bibliographic database of journal articles in fields allied to medicine and alternatives to conventional medicine. An Ovid database.
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Include 450,000+ citations and abstracts from over 2,000 journals; also includes book and media reviews and dissertations.
The AAS collection provides some 7600 distinct North-American-focused historical periodicals, published between 1684 and 1912. Titles cover a range of subject areas, including, but not limited to: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities. A small number of Canadian publications, primarily from the mid 19th Century, are also included.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, this collection covers nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. The newspapers represent a wide variety in style, production, audience, and era, and can be used to discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Contains records from dozens of different journals, and covers a wide range of topic areas from materials science to food analysis, and from pharmacology to environmental monitoring. Specific analytes, matrices or techniques can be searched. Informative abstracts provide full analytical method details.
Compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association, ABELL is a key bibliographical source for English studies. It indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, essay collections and dissertations published worldwide on English language and literature.
Critical reviews of the literature in the social sciences, physical sciences, and biomedical/life sciences. All articles are written by experts in the field who evaluate the primary research done on a topic and identify major articles in that subject area. The database allows searches across the 45+ individual "Annual Review of..." journals.
References to over 500,000 articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, linguistics, psychology and religious studies. Indexes articles two or more pages long in over 800 journals and other works (reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries) published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present. Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the, Royal Anthropological Institute from the U.K.
Contains the past, present and future American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications, including more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and cross-disciplinary resources for all things anthropological.
A newly added section, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, presents material from regions and populations that are not generally encountered in gender and sexuality studies, specifically southern Africa and Australia. The database as a whole brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Documents are sourced from over 35 countries, and include extensive material from the Canadian Gay and Lesbian Archives.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century is made up of more than five thousand rare and unique books covering sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history. It is the variety of titles and subjects in this archive that make the research opportunities intriguing. Through its many monographs, the collection offers researchers a fascinating collection of historical material providing multiple perspectives on the study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The archive presents content in fourteen different languages, with a predominance in French, English, and German and including Old French, Old English, and Old High German.
The ARIBIB is an online database for the astronomical bibliography in the reference format. The bibliographical information is given in following formats: Image format, Index format or Reference format. Abstracts are not included.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations, and indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions, which provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
The ArticleFirst database contains over 14.3 million bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 12,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and other popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. Records contain OCLC library holdings, and many include abstracts.
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities; it fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It contains a current total of over 2.5 million records. Subjects covered include archaeology, art, architecture, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre. As of January 2000, the Arts & Humanities Index contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,835,052 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv. The archive can be searched by clicking on the index link from the individual subject areas. The archive is owned and operated by Cornell University.
Includes journals, e-books, and standards across all disciplines of civil engineering: Aerospace, Architectural, Coastal and Ocean, Computing in Civil Engineering, Construction, Energy, Engineering Mechanics, Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydraulic, Infrastructure, Materials, Management, Professional Issues, Structural, Transportation, Urban Planning, Water Resources.
The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s authoritative, online reference for the mechanical engineering and related research communities. Includes topical collections on Automotive Systems, Biomedical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Renewable Energy and more.
- ASME’s Journals from 1960 – present
- ASME’s Conference Proceedings from 2000 – present, plus select proceedings back to 1955
- ASME eBooks selected from 1993 – present
- ASME Standards. Select "Standards" and then "click here to access via institutional account" in upper right of screen.
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Contains 84,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. Covers all subjects and contains two types of information: citations to publications and descriptions of research projects. Most of the citations in the database are to publications produced since 1978. Research projects are included from 1974. ASTIS is a project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary.