Databases

259 databases found ArticlesX

Coverage: 1976 to the present

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities; it fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It contains a current total of over 2.5 million records. Subjects covered include archaeology, art, architecture, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre. As of January 2000, the Arts & Humanities Index contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.

 

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,835,052 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv. The archive can be searched by clicking on the index link from the individual subject areas. The archive is owned and operated by Cornell University.

Includes journals, e-books, and standards across all disciplines of civil engineering: Aerospace, Architectural, Coastal and Ocean, Computing in Civil Engineering, Construction, Energy, Engineering Mechanics, Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydraulic, Infrastructure, Materials, Management, Professional Issues, Structural, Transportation, Urban Planning, Water Resources.

The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s authoritative, online reference for the mechanical engineering and related research communities. Includes topical collections on Automotive Systems, Biomedical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Renewable Energy and more.

  • ASME’s Journals from 1960 – present
  • ASME’s Conference Proceedings from 2000 – present, plus select proceedings back to 1955
  • ASME eBooks selected from 1993 – present
  • ASME Standards.  Select "Standards" and then "click here to access via institutional account" in upper right of screen.
Coverage: 1987 to the present

An indexing and abstracting tool covering the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.

Coverage: 1970s to the present

Contains 84,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. Covers all subjects and contains two types of information: citations to publications and descriptions of research projects. Most of the citations in the database are to publications produced since 1978. Research projects are included from 1974. ASTIS is a project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary. 

Coverage: 1949 to present, though indexing for some journal titles extends back to 1818

Contains citations to  journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and theology. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), the database covers topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.

BASE is a search engine for academic web resources. It povides more than 165 million documents from more than 8,000 sources. About 60% of the indexed documents can be accessed in full text for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library in Germany.

Coverage: 2009 to the present

Designed and built for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence systematic reviews bringing together the best current evidence with expert guidance.

Coverage: 1975 to 2007

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) 1990-2007 and RILA (Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art) 1975-1989 cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. 

The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) indexes literature on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.  In addition, special projects have contributed substantian numbers of additional citations to the database, among them references to journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779.

Through 1991, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.  However, monographs published since 1992 have not been added, and sources such as WorldCat should be consulted instead.

Coverage: 1900 to the present; Subject coverage from 55 B.C. onwards

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present.  Books, articles in books and articles in journals are listed, with some 700 journals and series currently searched for relevant material.

The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects. Data from the London Past Online project were added to the database in January 2003 and the first batch of data from Irish History Online was added in August 2004, with further batches from both projects being added later. From the end of 2006 the Bibliography has co-operated with teams working under the auspices of the Scottish Historical Review Trust which will henceforth edit the primarily Scottish titles in the database. The complete database now contains over 475,000 records.

Coverage: 1500 to1640

A still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. The bibliography identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.  While "comprehensiveness" remains the ideal goal of the bibliography, in the case of some particularly famous women, like Elizabeth Tudor and Mary Stuart, listings are limited to materials connected to these women's writings, rather than their lives.

Coverage: 1500s to the present

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, linguists, theologians, and policy makers. BIPNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions and lived experiences of North America's Indigenous peoples

Coverage: 1998 to present

An indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers and a majority were previously available only in printed form. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability.

Coverage: 1926 to the present

BIOSIS Previews is the online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings). It indexes about 5,500 life sciences journals of which about 2,300 are indexed cover to cover, and 1,500 conference proceedings, review articles, books and U.S. patents. It covers the biological and biomedical disciplines: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, clinical and experimental medicine, ecology, environmental sciences, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology, veterinary science, virology and zoology. International in coverage.  BIOSIS Previews can be cross-searched with other databases in the Web of Science.

Coverage: 1900 to the present

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black ExperienceIndex to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the newspaper Chicago Defender.

British History Online provides free access to selected core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. 

British Literary Manuscripts Online c.1660-1900 provides an intimate look into the lives and works of Britain’s major writers across more than two hundred years. From the rise of Charles II to the death of Queen Victoria British Literary Manuscripts Online c.1660-1900 contains complete facsimile copies of author manuscripts including poems,plays, and novels, diaries and letters as well as drawings and handwritten drafts. The collection traces the development of literary movements from the classicism of Pope and Johnson to the Romanticism of Wordsworth and the gothic novels of the Brontës.

Coverage: 1700s to 2000s

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century (the same periodicals as are covered in the UMI microfilm collection "Early British Periodicals"). It includes millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

Coverage: 1886 to the present; varies by title

Contains citations and full-text articles from thousands of business sources, including academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes  worldwide company, country and industry reports. Covers all areas of business, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.

Coverage: 1986 to the present

This is the searchable online version of the print Bibliography of Systematic Mycology from 1986 to the present. It includes literature on biodiversity, classification, distribution, evolution, identification, nomenclature, phylogeny, systematics and taxonomy of fungi (including those groups traditionally treated as fungi but now better classified in other kingdoms).

Coverage: 2001 to the present

Provides over 200 fulltext French-language journals in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.

"Retrouvez sur ce site 44 697 articles parus depuis 2001 dans 161 revues de recherche et de débat. Les archives sont en accès gratuit, ainsi que les résumés, sommaires et plans d'articles, et le texte intégral de certains articles récents."

Coverage: 1883 to 2010

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Calgary Herald from 1883 to 2010.

The most current issues of the Calgary Herald are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni

Cambridge is a not-for-profit publisher dedicated to the world-wide dissemination of knowledge across a wide range of subject areas, and currently publishes over 380 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine. As well as those journals owned by the Press itself, they publish on behalf of over 100 learned and professional societies.

Coverage: 1933 to the present, but varies by title

Includes content from a broad range of Canadian sources including scholarly journals, magazines, reports, news, radio & television transcripts and dissertations. Useful for research on hundreds of topics in the fields of business, science and technology, medicine, humanities and the arts.

Coverage: 1900s to the present

Citations to articles on musical activity in Canada from the late 19th century to the present, and to articles on international music and musicians published in Canadian periodicals from 1999 to the present.  The database currently includes more 37,000 articles from over 600 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines, 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.

Coverage: 1982 to January 2019 (ceased)

Indexes publications produced by Canadian governments (federal, provincial, territorial & municipal), government agencies & departments, research institutes and government laboratories. Full-text of reports will be available in the Microlog microfiche collection in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor).  

Contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.

Coverage: 1535-1920
Published by Readex/Newsbank and created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully catalogued and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century, expertly compiled by the curators of the extraordinary Afro-Americana Imprints collection.