Databases

Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.

Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.

A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 14 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable. ADS also tracks also citations and usage of its records to provide advanced discovery and evaluation capabilities and provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including articles available from publisher's websites, astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives. 

Provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry.  Includes: Houben-Weyl Archive, Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates and Science of Synthesis Reference Library.

Includes over 30 full-text reference works and encyclopedias published by Elsevier.

SciFinder-n is a comprehensive source for chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It provides access to new workflow solutions such as PatentPak™, MethodsNow™ and Retrosynthesis Planner as well as the core Chemical Abstracts Service databases available in classic SciFinder.  

scite is a tool which offers a quantitative and qualitative insight into how scientific publications cite each other by using access to full-text articles and its deep learning model to tell you, for a given publication:

• how many times it was cited by others;
• how it was cited by others by displaying the text where the citation happened from each citing paper;
• whether each citation offers supporting or contrasting evidence of the cited claims in the publication of interest, or simply mention it. 

Assistant by scite is a new feature (in beta) powered by Generative AI within scite.ai. By adding ChatGPT to scite, Assistant helps users find research-backed information by querying its citation index. 

Other features offerd by the Smart Citation database include: 

An annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. Its thirty chapters cover all eras in U.S. history from colonial days onwards. The online edition also includes four new thematic chapters—on economic issues; non-governmental actors; domestic issues, the Congress, and public opinion; and race, gender, and culture. Entries are drawn from many sources, from collections of government documents to biographies, monographs, book chapters, journal articles, web sites, and more.

Developed and maintained by Forum+, an initiative of the McMaster Health Forum, the site is the world's most comprehensive, continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about the programs, services and products available in a broad range of government sectors and program areas (e.g., community and social services, culture and gender, economic development and growth, education, and transportation) as well as the governance, financial and delivery arrangements within which these programs, services and products are provided, and the implementation strategies that can help to ensure that these programs, services and products get to those who need them. Content includes evidence briefs for policy, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews, systematic reviews in progress (i.e. protocols for systematic reviews), and systematic reviews being planned (i.e. registered titles for systematic reviews)

SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Börnstein Database, is the world's largest resource for physical and chemical data in materials science. This resource includes 250,000 substances and material systems, 3,000 properties, and 1,200,000 literature citations.

SpringerMaterials incorporates all volumes of Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the largest and most respected compilation of data in physics and chemistry founded in 1883, along with a number of unique and specialized databases.

Core Components

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods for experiments. It is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine and life sciences, bringing together content from Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers and Springer Protocols.

Comprehensive and regularly updated, providing full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Stahl.

A freely accessible online encyclopedia covering all areas of philosophy. Each entry is written by an expert in the field who is responsible for maintaining its currency. McMaster University Library supports the encyclopedia as a SEPIA Associate Member.

Systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.