Databases

24 databases found starting with I X
Coverage:
Current

Provides access to over 1407 U.S., 430 Canadian, 52 Ontario and 73 global industry market research reports. Search for industries by keyword(s) or browse a list of industries defined according to the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level.

Numeric database containing records of inorganic crystal structures, with atomic coordinates, published since 1915.  For organic or organometallic structures, see the Cambridge Crystallographic Structure Database.

Searchable bibliographic database of over 3,100,000 items of research in economics, including over 2,900,000 that can be downloaded in full-text. Covers working papers, articles, and software. Part of RePEc (Research Papers in Economics), a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in economics.

Coverage:
1988 to the present, but varies by title

Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Includes journals, conference proceedings, and standards.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

50

Over 300 e-books published by the IET (Institute of Engineering Technology) on general electrical engineering topics, power system management, control systems, radar, and more.  All titles are also listed in the library catalogue.

Coverage:
Varies by dataset

The IMF provides open access to four key statistical databases -  International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BPS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT) - plus a selection of other datasets and free reports.

Coverage:
1941 to 1996

This primary source database chronicles human migration in the latter half of the 20th-century. News and analysis comes from reports gathered daily between the early 1940s and 1996 by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA.  These include translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts (transcripts), newspapers, periodicals and government documents.

NOTE: Register an email address to Sign In.
Customized, web-based research evaluation tool that allows you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide.

Coverage:
1906 to the present

Key indexing database for publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, covering almost 100 years of publication. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Coverage:
Early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400

Provides access to 60,000+ color and black and white photographic reproductions of Christian medieval art searchable by subject, work of art and bibliography. Records have textual information and bibliographies about the images and may also include a published image of the work. Some restriction of images occurs due to copyright restrictions, however bibliography references to published images are usually provided. Covers Western and Eastern Orthodox Christianity primarily, but the term Christian is broadly interpreted and includes Jewish, Islamic, and non-ecclesiastical subjects as well, and is without geographical limitations. The art is diverse in theme, media, and motif.

The Index Translationum is a list of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. The database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979 and totalling more than 1,500,000 entries in all disciplines.

Provides original materials on the political, social, and cultural history of Native Peoples from the 16th century well into the 20th century, including rare books and monographs, periodicals, newspapers, manuscripts, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, photos, and videos from the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Major contributors include the University of Alberta, U.S. National Archives, Library of Congress, Princeton University, Moravian Archives, and Gonzaga University.  Titles in this database are also listed in the library catalogue.

New
Coverage:
1977 to the present

With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific, the Informit Indigenous Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews, covering both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and groundbreaking research within the global community, and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate.

Coverage:
2000 to the present

InfoSci-Books is a fully searchable database providing access to chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000. IGI Global is a publisher of scholarly research on advanced computer science and information technology research with an especially strong focus on the role, impact, and effective use of technology across a variety of settings, including business, education, health care, government, and more. The database includes over 3,500 scholarly books, and includes major reference works. Individual titles can also be accessed through the library catalogue.

Coverage:
1970 to the present

An international bibliographic database of publications covering all aspects of the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, with an emphasis on engineering, energy, safety and life sciences. Contains bibliographic references and full-text documents of conventional and non-conventional literature, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses.

Coverage:
1969 to the present

A bibliographic database that indexes world-wide literature on physics, astronomy/astrophysics, electronics, electrical engineering, control theory and technology, computers and computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering and materials science. The types of literature indexed and abstracted include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports and dissertations. 

Coverage:
1974 to the present

More than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, comprehensively indexed by the SLAC and DESY libraries since 1974.

Coverage:
1951 to the present

Covers social science and interdisciplinary research; includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

Coverage:
1950s to the present

A standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance for most countries of the world. 

A multidisciplinary indexing database covering Europe, North Africa and the Middle East for the entire period from AD 300 to 1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

Provides nomenclatural information (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) for the scientific names of vascular plants from family down to infraspecific ranks. Search by plant name, author or publication. Includes names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies.

Coverage:
2007 to the present

Abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world. The scope of the discipline is that of the major political science journals.

The iPortal is a database of full-text online resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. Its content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

This initiative began in 2005 at the University of Saskatchewan as a resource for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community and currently links to over 65,000 items. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available via GetIt@Mac links.

Coverage:
400 to 1700

An online bibliographyof secondary source material pertaining to the Renaissance and Medieval periods in Europe from 400 to 1700. Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).