Includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition). The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. The magazine covers over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers,stylists, and illustrators of the period.
NOTE: Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) at McMaster: More than 830,000 print books now available online to Mac faculty, students via HathiTrust Digital Library
As HathiTrust members, McMaster students, faculty and staff have access to a digital repository that includes millions of items from research libraries around the world. The collection includes both in-copyright materials and public domain materials. Full-text material primarily consists of books and other items published before 1923. This includes a large collection of U.S. government documents and a growing collection of Canadian government publications. New material is added daily.
Includes the backfiles of the following nine major US and UK consumer magazines devoted to health, fitness, exercise, nutrition, and medicine, charting trends in these areas from the mid-20th century to the 21st.
- Flex [US] (1983 to 2015)
- Men’s Fitness [US] (1985 to 2015)
- Men’s Fitness [UK] (1999 to 2015)
- Men’s Health [US] (1986 to 2015)
- Prevention [US] (1950 to 2015)
- Women’s Health [US](2005 to 2015)
- Women’s Health Activist [US] (1975 to 2015)
- Women’s Health Weekly [US] (1994 to 2015)
- Zest [UK] (1994 to 2014)
Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some small coverage gaps (issues / pages).
Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Designed to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
A repository of synthesized research evidence related to governance, financial and delivery arrangements in health systems and to implementation strategies that can support change within health systems. Contains details about policy briefs, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews, and protocols of systematic reviews relevant to health systems, as well as links to any user-friendly summaries, scientific abstracts and full-text reports that are currently available for these syntheses.
HealthSTAR contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
HeinOnline: Government, Politics and Law for Canada is a fully-searchable, image-based government document and legal research database with a focus on the Canadian context.
Contains a rich source of original, professionally produced multimedia talks, case studies and interviews, and 20 peer-reviewed, vocational journals. The Collection enables faculty and students to quickly and easily access and incorporate high quality academic and professional insights by many world renowned authorities, to complement and enrich teaching and learning. Some examples of how the content is used include:
Heritage is a growing collection of digitized Canadian primary source documents, chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. Featured collections include:
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,300 academic historical journals from every major country, and selective coverage of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of interest to researchers and students of history.
Includes primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on some of the most widely studied topics in American history.
Hoover's provides management and financial information on over 50,000 public and private companies in the United States and around the world.International coverage tends to focus on larger companies whose stock trades on a U.S. exchange or those that have extensive operations in the U.S.
Each snapshot includes an industry overview, the top companies in the industry, associations and organizations, and key people. U.S. focus.
HCPP provides a vital historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world, providing detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries. The database includes House of Commons parliamentary papers from 1803 onwards, Hansard (Commons and Lords), Diplomatic and Consular Reports (1887-1916), and more.
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Provides detailed indexing and abstracts for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities (of which 470 are peer-reviewed), including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Subject coverage includes archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.