Databases

Includes primary source documents that trace the history of the East India Company which, at its peak, controlled over a quarter of the world's trade. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this collection charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Topics covered include:

• Administrative and ecclesiastical appointments
• Agriculture
• Charters and the Company’s relationship to the English/British Crown
• Courts and legal affairs, including legislation
• Diplomacy, treaties and ambassadorial expeditions
• Finance and debt
• The machinery of government
• Pay and pensions for Company servants and their families
• Railways
• Trade
• Early voyages to Japan and the Spice Islands (Indonesia)
• Warfare and military matters

This collection is a key resource for scholarship of British imperial history, maritime trade, global commerce, and the history of the first great multinational corporation.

Cross-search over 30 indexing, abstracting, and fulltext databases in a range of subjects.

EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography of the world's economic literature.

For over 170 years, The Economist has published timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. It covers the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Included in the archive are full-colour images, covers, advertisements, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue from 1843 to 2020.

The most current issues of The Economist are available in print and online via several databases. 

Covers the political, policy, business and economic outlook for nearly 200 countries and 26 sectors across six major industries, focusing on dynamics that could impact an organization.

Contains video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes such as Apollo 13, Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, Deepwater Horizon oil spill, Ford Pinto, Space Shuttle Challenger and the Titantic.

A free collection of more than 2,000 videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship, innovation, product development, and other business topics, including lectures from thought leaders in the field.  The content can be searched or browsed by speaker, topic, collection, date, media type, popularity and more.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC indexes educational-related literature that includes journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.