Databases

663 databases found

Coverage: 1990 to the present

The ArticleFirst database contains over 14.3 million bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 12,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and other popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. Records contain OCLC library holdings, and many include abstracts.

Coverage: 1976 to the present

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities; it fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It contains a current total of over 2.5 million records. Subjects covered include archaeology, art, architecture, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre. As of January 2000, the Arts & Humanities Index contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.

 

Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024. To learn more, visit Welcome to JSTOR from Artstor. If you have image groups on Artstor, they will automatically be copied over to your personal JSTOR Workspace starting February 1, 2024.

Online access to approximately 400,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines which document artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, and which focus on, but are not limited to, the arts. As a campus-wide resource, ARTstor is designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images, as well as by art historians, and to support a wide range of non-commercial educational and scholarly activities.

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,835,052 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv. The archive can be searched by clicking on the index link from the individual subject areas. The archive is owned and operated by Cornell University.

Includes journals, e-books, and standards across all disciplines of civil engineering: Aerospace, Architectural, Coastal and Ocean, Computing in Civil Engineering, Construction, Energy, Engineering Mechanics, Environmental, Geotechnical, Hydraulic, Infrastructure, Materials, Management, Professional Issues, Structural, Transportation, Urban Planning, Water Resources.

This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

This freely available database provides information on over 200,000 artists, with a focus on American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present. Some services are restricted to subscribers: McMaster currently does not have a subscription.

This fully searchable online database now contains 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, from over 9,000 systems. With associated crystal and reaction data, the ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database places this reliable information at your fingertips.

The latest update includes more than 230 new aluminum, 87 new copper, 86 new magnesium, and 71 new titanium ternary phase diagrams; 895 new ternary diagrams, including 185 ternary systems that are new to the database; 205 new binary diagrams, including 12 binary systems that are new to the database.

ASM Handbooks Online is a comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology. Published by ASM International, the ASM Handbooks contain peer-reviewed, trusted information in every area of materials engineering. McMaster provides access to the complete content of all volumes.

The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s authoritative, online reference for the mechanical engineering and related research communities. Includes topical collections on Automotive Systems, Biomedical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Renewable Energy and more.

  • ASME’s Journals from 1960 – present
  • ASME’s Conference Proceedings from 2000 – present, plus select proceedings back to 1955
  • ASME eBooks selected from 1993 – present
  • ASME Standards.  Select "Standards" and then "click here to access via institutional account" in upper right of screen.

ASME is the leading international developer of codes and standards associated with the art, science, and practice of mechanical engineering. These codes & standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing.

Coverage: 1987 to the present

An indexing and abstracting tool covering the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.

Coverage: 1970s to the present

Contains 84,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. Covers all subjects and contains two types of information: citations to publications and descriptions of research projects. Most of the citations in the database are to publications produced since 1978. Research projects are included from 1974. ASTIS is a project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary. 

Coverage: Active ASTM standards only

Includes all Active standards from the 80+ volume Annual Book of ASTM Standards. Content is updated as standards are released.  The Engineering Digital Library provides access to Standard Technical Papers and Symposia papers, e-books, manuals, 6 journals, and a terminology dictionary.   

McMaster's subscription does not include the historical standards, or additional standards - e.g., UOP - which may be referenced but are not immediately available online.

Coverage: 1949 to present, though indexing for some journal titles extends back to 1818

Contains citations to  journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and theology. Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), the database covers topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.

NOTE: First time user? Registration needed to create account and log in.
Audio Digest partners with the top medical institutions across the country to deliver only the most clinically relevant and up-to-date information. The library of accredited activities features luminary faculty from the nation’s top teaching institutions and key opinion leaders in every field. This ensures that members have access to the best knowledge available, enabling them to make the most informed decisions when caring for their patients.

BASE is a search engine for academic web resources. It povides more than 165 million documents from more than 8,000 sources. About 60% of the indexed documents can be accessed in full text for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library in Germany.

Contains clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) clinical reasoning modules. Includes current equipment, techniques, and ways to foster effective clinician-based patient interaction.

Coverage: 1939 to 2001

BBC Monitoring was founded in 1939 at the start of WWII. Its purpose was to listen to radio broadcasts and gather open-source intelligence to help Britain and its allies understand global dynamics and assess emerging global threats and capabilities. Over the next 60 years, the scope of its monitoring grew quickly. Trained specialists transcribed broadcasts of speeches, current aff airs, political discussions, and social and cultural events worldwide. Transcripts, in turn, were translated into English, then read by experts who carefully selected critical content for publication. Finally, selections were summarized and curated into daily reports that comprise the Summary of World Broadcasts. These original daily reports often included commentary and evaluation by subject-matter experts, as well as synopses and specialist briefings. 

Coverage: 2009 to the present

Designed and built for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence systematic reviews bringing together the best current evidence with expert guidance.

Coverage: 1898 to the present; varies by title

Provides full-text access to Canada's leading law reports and case summary services, as well as a collection of unreported decisions dating back to 1977.

Coverage: 1975 to 2007

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) 1990-2007 and RILA (Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art) 1975-1989 cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. 

The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) indexes literature on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.  In addition, special projects have contributed substantian numbers of additional citations to the database, among them references to journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779.

Through 1991, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.  However, monographs published since 1992 have not been added, and sources such as WorldCat should be consulted instead.

Coverage: 1900 to the present; Subject coverage from 55 B.C. onwards

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present.  Books, articles in books and articles in journals are listed, with some 700 journals and series currently searched for relevant material.

The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects. Data from the London Past Online project were added to the database in January 2003 and the first batch of data from Irish History Online was added in August 2004, with further batches from both projects being added later. From the end of 2006 the Bibliography has co-operated with teams working under the auspices of the Scottish Historical Review Trust which will henceforth edit the primarily Scottish titles in the database. The complete database now contains over 475,000 records.

Coverage: 1500 to1640

A still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. The bibliography identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.  While "comprehensiveness" remains the ideal goal of the bibliography, in the case of some particularly famous women, like Elizabeth Tudor and Mary Stuart, listings are limited to materials connected to these women's writings, rather than their lives.

Coverage: 1500s to the present

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, linguists, theologians, and policy makers. BIPNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions and lived experiences of North America's Indigenous peoples

Povides the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work. These biographies provide a personal and scholarly view of the lives and work of America's most distinguished scientists and a biographical history of science in the United States.

Coverage: 1998 to present

An indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers and a majority were previously available only in printed form. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability.

Coverage: 1926 to the present

BIOSIS Previews is the online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings). It indexes about 5,500 life sciences journals of which about 2,300 are indexed cover to cover, and 1,500 conference proceedings, review articles, books and U.S. patents. It covers the biological and biomedical disciplines: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, clinical and experimental medicine, ecology, environmental sciences, microbiology, molecular biology, pharmacology, veterinary science, virology and zoology. International in coverage.

Coverage: 1850 to the present

Contains approximately 1200 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.