Artstor on JSTOR

Online access to approximately 400,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines which document artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, and which focus on, but are not limited to, the arts. As a campus-wide resource, Artstor is designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images, as well as by art historians, and to support a wide range of non-commercial educational and scholarly activities.

The Collection has been derived from several source collections that are the product of collaborations with libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual scholars. These source collections include:

• The Image Gallery: A collection of 200,000 images of world art and culture corresponding to the contents of a university slide library, constructed in response to college teaching needs. Since the images have been catalogued with subject headings, they will be useful both to those in the arts and in many other fields;
• The Carnegie Arts of the United States: A widely used collection of images documenting aspects of the history of American art, architecture, visual and material culture;
• The Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts: A collection that richly documents the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity to the present.
• The Huntington Archive of Asian Art: A broad photographic overview of the art of Asia from 3000 B.C. through the present;
• The Illustrated Bartsch: A collection derived from the art reference publication of the same name, containing images and data related to more than 50,000 old master European prints from the 15th to 19th Centuries;
• The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive: High resolution images of wall paintings and sculpture from the Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang, China, along with related objects and art from the caves that are now in museums and libraries in Europe and the U.S.;
• Architecture and Design Collection: A comprehensive collection of high resolution images representing the holdings of the Department of Architecture and Design of The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York.
• Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution: More than 10,000 high-resolution images made from historic photographs richly documenting Native American subjects (portraits, scenes, etc.).
• Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection: A collection that embraces approximately 36,000 high quality digital images from the Schlesinger Library's renowned photographic archives.