Databases

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of The Hamilton Spectator from 1852 to 2010. 

The most current issues of the The Hamilton Spectator are available in print and online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni. 

Includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition). The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. The magazine covers over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers,stylists, and illustrators of the period.

As HathiTrust members, McMaster students, faculty and staff have access to a digital repository that includes millions of items from research libraries around the world. The collection includes both in-copyright materials and public domain materials. Full-text material primarily consists of books and other items published before 1923. This includes a large collection of U.S. government documents and a growing collection of Canadian government publications. New material is added daily. 

Includes the backfiles of the following nine major US and UK consumer magazines devoted to health, fitness, exercise, nutrition, and medicine, charting trends in these areas from the mid-20th century to the 21st.

• Flex [US] (1983 to 2015)
• Men’s Fitness [US] (1985 to 2015)
• Men’s Fitness [UK] (1999 to 2015)
• Men’s Health [US] (1986 to 2015)
• Prevention [US] (1950 to 2015)
• Women’s Health [US](2005 to 2015)
• Women’s Health Activist [US] (1975 to 2015)
• Women’s Health Weekly [US] (1994 to 2015)
• Zest [UK] (1994 to 2014)

Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some small coverage gaps (issues / pages).

HealthSTAR contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.

HeinOnline: Government, Politics and Law for Canada is a fully-searchable, image-based government document and legal research database with a focus on the Canadian context.

Contains a rich source of original, professionally produced multimedia talks, case studies and interviews, and 20 peer-reviewed, vocational journals. The Collection enables faculty and students to quickly and easily access and incorporate high quality academic and professional insights by many world renowned authorities, to complement and enrich teaching and learning. Some examples of how the content is used include:

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,300 academic historical journals from every major country, and selective coverage of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of interest to researchers and students of history.

Provides detailed indexing and abstracts for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities (of which 470 are peer-reviewed), including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Subject coverage includes archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.