Databases

This database lists obituaries or death notices of Canadian medical personal that appeared in various medical journals listed below between 1844 and 2000.  In cases where the actual journal is available online, the title of the journal has a hyperlink.  Otherwise, you will need to contact a library to get the actual obituary or notice.

This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres working in the area of health and medical research. The publications included are both general policy documents as well as those of a specialized technical nature.

A collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Provides access to comprehensive research-based cancer information and resources for cancer researchers, health professionals, patients and their families, advocates, news media and the public.

Statistics Canada's site of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.

AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. The collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

A freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highligh concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). 

Search across ten chemistry dictionaries and databases, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. 

Combined chemical dictionary -- Dictionary of commonly cited compounds -- Dictionary of drugs -- Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds -- Dictionary of natural products -- Dictionary of organic compounds -- Dictionary of Food Compounds -- Dictionary of Marine Natural Products -- Polymers, a property database -- Properties of organic compounds 

CINAHL indexes almost 3,000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines (e.g. respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.). Also indexed are: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full-text is included for some journals as well as legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Pre-CINAHL refers to records that are not yet 100% indexed. These records are in process and do not have subject headings applied.

Clinical Overviews (formerly First Consult) is an evidence-based clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.

Provides full-text access to medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; FIRST CONSULT point-of-care clinical monographs; PROCEDURES Consult, systematic guidance of procedures integral to the practice of medicine; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines; Patient education handouts and CME materials.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. 

The Cochrane Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of medical research studies. Focus is on evidence-based health care.

Covers the health effects of consumer products for use by consumers, scientists, health care providers and regulatory authorities.  Search or browse by products, brands, manufacturers, chemicals, product categories and product types.

Brings together openly available content related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and bioRxiv. The database will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned and new content is published.

Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references.

Contains approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada. CPG Infobase is maintained by Joule.

An authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. It is considered the Canadian standard for drug and therapeutic information. Includes information on all Canadian drugs and any issues pulled from the market. Also includes access to the Canadian Pharmacists Association’s (CPhA) publications Therapeutic Choices, the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, and Information for Patients, in addition to Lexi-Interact. Search by condition or by drug information.

Curio.ca provides streaming access to selected educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, with documentaries from television and radio, news reports, and archival material.  Both English and French language content is included.  Programs are pulled from the Doc Zone, The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, The Passionate Eye, and more.

Note:  McMaster's subscription does not include the BBC or National Geographic channel.