Databases

Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religious Studies journals, both in text format and through a web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and nearly 100,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. Searches of all data can be made at both sites. Some collections of articles (e.g., Festschriften) are also included.

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Toronto Star from January 2, 1894 to 3 months ago

The most current issues of the Toronto Star are available online (plain-text) via Factiva, Nexis Uni and other databases.

Identifies, acquires, catalogues, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during World War One. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover, in full colour or greyscale, and with granular indexing of all articles and specialist indexing of Publications.

A freely available integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. Contains more than one million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research worldwide.

A meta-search engine for evidence-based medicine. Finds high quality clinical research evidence from a wide range of sources.

Arguably one of the most important databases for papyrological research, Trismegistos is an interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources. The core of Trismegistos is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages. It also comprises a number of other sections including, Collections, Archives, People, Places, and so on.

Contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images. 

Contains 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

Contains more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.

McMaster has access to several modules within the U.K. Parliamentary Papers database including the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th Century (also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books), House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, Public Petitions to Parliament  and Hansard.

Contains information about almost 2 million physical features and populated places in the United States. The database is maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographical Names. A search will return feature type, elevation, estimated population, county and latitude/longitude. Can delimit search by feature type, population range, elevation or map name. Can display location on a national map, and also identify the local watershed. Includes links to other name sources for foreign (non-US) countries and Antarctica.

Reproduced from originals at the U.S. National Archives, this primary sources publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes U.S.-Vatican relations, the Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews. The collection consists of telegrams, despatches, reports, and letters between Myron Taylor (the president's representative to the Vatican) and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. There are materials on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. In addition, there are materials on Axis diplomats, war criminals, protocols and religious statements, and records of the peace efforts of the Vatican.

UCAS is the UK central organisation through which applications are processed for entry to full-time first degrees, HNDs and university diplomas. The mission of UCAS is to promote a partnership between prospective students and universities and colleges

Contains bibliographic descriptions and ordering information for approximately 300,000 periodicals (also known as serials) including scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Information includes:

• publisher, country of publication, format, whether active or ceased, start year, frequency
• document type, e.g., academic/scholarly, consumer magazine, etc.
• whether refereed/peer reviewed
• abstracting & indexing coverage
• full-text database coverage
• reviews

Provides a single entry point to a range of UN statistical databases.  The datasets cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Volume I covers major works from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists. The collection contextualizes these original works with 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Volume II expands on Volume I by providing an additional 100,000 pages of important, rare, and hard-to-find works, scholarly writings, and more. Volume II adds extensive coverage of the pre-Comics Code era horror, crime, romance, and war comics that fueled the backlash leading to one of the largest censorship campaigns in US history. It also contains tens of thousands of pages of non-mainstream, post-code comics and secondary materials from around the world, including the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.

The United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document.

A comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Topics include: Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, Women and Gender Issues.

Searchable, full-text database from January 1, 1976 onward (full-page images since 1790). To view and print patents in PDF for free, a viewer software needs to be installed. It is available from http://www.uspto.gov/web/menu/plugins/index.html. Select TIFF - Tagged Image File Format (used for Patent images) - click on Free and following instruction. Once downloaded, you can view patents in PDF by clicking on Images when viewing a patent. Patents can only be printed one page at a time with the free plugin software.

Contains investment information and advice. The Standard edition tracks approximately 1,700 companies in over 90 industries. The Small and Mid-Cap section contains reports on 1,800 companies, most of which are smaller than those in the Standard edition (usually with market values from less than $1 billion to $5 billion). 

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Vancouver Sun from January 1, 2011 to 2 weeks ago.

The most current issues of the Vancourver Sun are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni

One of the most extensive and complete archives of television news. Since 1968, the website has recorded, indexed, and preserved network television news for research, review, and study.  The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). NOTE: Video clips are not available online. Only asbstracts (or summaries) of televsion news are available to everyone.

Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge. All subjects across Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences are now available online in an easily discoverable, fully cross-searchable, and highly accessible format.

The goal of the Victorian Women's Studies Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML) and/or Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) Guidelines. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. 

This online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England, includes the following elements: Tablets - a searchable online edition of the tablets (volumes I and II); Exhibition - an introduction to the tablets and their context; Reference - a guide to aspects of the tablets content; Help - navigation and using the site. Also available are highlights from the tablets.

Covers 12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive.

Covers anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality and more.

A comprehensive reference of musculoskeletal structures and function, plus common injuries and conditions.

More than 60 animations that illustrate body system functions, detailed physiology and common conditions. System overviews include: Endocrine glands and hormones, function of the skeleton, cardiovascular physiology, and special senses. Detailed animations include: Breathing rate, heart conduction, urine creation, function of the epiglottis, sound production, and skeletal muscle contractions.