Databases starting with W

18 databases found
Coverage:
1889 to the present | Recent covers January 1, 2008 to 3 months ago | Historical covers July 8, 1889 to 17 years ago

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Coverage:
1877 to the present | Recent covers January 1, 2008 to 3 months ago | Historical covers December 6, 1877 to 17 years ago

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Coverage:
Varies by database

The Web of Science platform provides access to the following products and databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.

Coverage:
Varies by database

The Web of Science Core Collection consists of several separate multi-disciplinary citation indexes (i.e., Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science and Social Science & Humanities), Emerging Sources Citation Index) that can be searched independently or in combination. It ​indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals published worldwide (including open-access titles) and over 160,000 conference proceedings in all subject areas.

One of America’s premier lexicographical works. First published in 1961, this online edition incorporates subsequent updates to take account of current usage. Comprising over 450,000 vocabulary definitions, each with etymological and phonological descriptions, this dictionary is presented here in fully searchable form.

Number of Simultaneous Users:

The number of concurrent accesses is limited.

Coverage:
Varies by dataset

Provides access to several finance and business related datasets including COMPUSTAT, CRSP and I/B/E/S. Only current McMaster faculty, staff, graduate students (Ph.D. and Masters) and research assistants can register for an individual WRDS account. All other McMaster users can request a WRDS day pass using this form.

Coverage:
Varies: 1995 onwards for many titles; includes backfiles for former Blackwell titles

Provides full-text articles from more than 1,600 journals in a wide range of subjects.

Coverage:
Began in 2007. Updated irregularly.

This anatomy resource is a self-study and self-testing tool that uses clinical MRI and CT radiograph images from the Atlas of anatomy (Gilroy)  and companion text, Anatomy: an essential textbook and review. These provide an interactive study aid that allows students to learn and test themselves to gauge their progress.

Coverage:
1600-2000

Gives access to more than 2,400 primary documents, as well as books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women

Coverage:
1948-2015

Created by the Inter-Parliamentary Union in cooperation with the UN Development Programme, this database contains citations and some abstracts for 650 titles, including books, articles in books, periodical articles, and other organizational or governmental publications. Search by keyword, document type, country, organization, subject, language, year and/or periodical title.

Coverage:
1526-1850

A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered makes it a  useful resource for teaching and research, providing a view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period. 

New
Coverage:
1846-2005

Provides archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines dating from the late 19th through to the 21st century, documenting evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Includes titles such as Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Seventeen. All content, including advertisements, is fully searchable. 

Coverage:
1973 to the present
Indexes globally published articles on the economic and social aspects of agriculture.  Topics include agricultural economics, regional policy and development, employment and income, food policy and food security, marketing and distribution, finance, natural resource economics, and rural sociology. Includes a fully searchable backfile to 1973 of over 364,000 abstracts with approximately 15,000 new records added each year.
Coverage:
1901-1969

Digitized from originals held by McMaster University Library's Research Collections.  This collection contains uncatalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle.  The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted.  The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.

Coverage:
1800-1922; varies by title

Provides three collections of nineteenth and early twentieth-century  newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and Southeast Asia.  This primary sources collection facilitates the study of regional history, including colonialization.

Coverage:
1960 to the present

Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. 

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalogue, merging the holdings of over 72,000 institutions worldwide. The database includes books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. McMaster's holdings will be listed first. Items not in our library can be requested via RACER (interlibrary loans).

Coverage:
1975 to the present

Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Includes the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. Many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.

General Databases

New and Trial Databases

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email