Databases

From music and youth culture to politics and fashion, the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. This primary source database traces the development from 1950s austerity to the excess of the 1970s through a range of printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video footage including:

• Pamphlets, letters, government files, and eye witness accounts covering key events of the period.
• The renowned Social Protest Collection from University of California, Berkeley.
• Underground magazines including OZ and IT; as well as American fanzines and alternative press titles from Bowling Green State University.
• Thousands of indexed photographs depicting the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s.
• Ephemera and memorabilia – posters, pins and artefacts.
• A collection of carefully selected video footage that brings the sights and sounds of the period to life.
   

Collection of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II.  Topics covered include the administration of refugee camps across Europe including England, Germany, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia; displaced Persons Assembly Centre reports; Jewish Relief Unit field reports; British Military Government in Germany; Belsen DP Camp; Maclean Mission in Italy; Politics of the Refugee Crisis; and, strengthening of the Zionist cause.

Sources include surveys, leaflets, photographs, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.

This collection showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the 19th through 21st centuries. Ranging beyond a few specific movements, the archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe.

Provides nearly two million preprints from arXiv, bioRxiv, chemRxiv, medRxiv and Preprints.org and is accessible via the Web of Science platform. 

Discover preprints for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities

• Discover preprints connected to author profiles and peer reviewed literature in the Web of Science.
• Link directly to the preprint repositories to view each version of the preprint and download full text.
• Track citation activity for the preprint and link to the citation network in Web of Science.

An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.

A collection of over 670 full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Individual journal titles are accessible through the library catalogue (Omni).

Cross-search over 50 indexing, abstracting, and full-text databases in a range of subjects.

Indexes over 4 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at colleges and universities worldwide. 

Contains thousands of full-text e-books across a variety of disciplines. To display titles accessible to McMaster users, use the "Book Status" filter and select "Owned and subscribed to by my library."  

Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue and in the standard ProQuest databases platform.

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of several Canadian, British, French, Indian and U.S. newspapers including The Globe and Mail, The Hamilton Spectator, Le Monde, The New York Times, The Guardian and The Observer, The Times of India, Toronto Star and The Wall Street Journal.

Provides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of business sources, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, dissertations, reports (e.g., company, country, industry), videos and more. Includes a mix of practical and theoretical content that covers all areas of business including accounting, e-commerce, entrepreneurship, finance, human resources, information systems, international business, management, marketing and operations research.

Provides full-text articles for 140 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.

Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), The American Journal of Psychiatry and other psychiatric references, including books, journals, guidelines, and self-assessment tools.

Eleven online videos that feature demonstrations of a therapist conducting supervision with a student and an interview with the experts, conducted by hosts Hanna Levenson and Arpana G. Inman. An excellent resource for students learning how to supervise, as well as practitioners seeking quick references to improve their own supervision skills.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Anyone with access to the video library can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as it is done by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. This is a resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology and related areas in social work.

Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics. Covers over 1,800 international professional journals, as well as books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Beginning in 2001, many citations include references, their abstracts, and links to cited references.

The PTSDpubs bibliographic database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, includes citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other psychological effects of trauma.

An open chemistry database that collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules. Examples include chemical compounds including drugs, nucleotides including siRNAs and miRNAs, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides and chemically-modified macromolecules.

Multidisciplinary database that brings together or links to full-text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Pre-filtered PubMed searches for clinicians: Search by Clinical Study Category, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics. After running one of these searches, you may further refine your results using PubMed's Limits feature. Results of searches on these pages are limited to specific clinical research areas. For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly.