Databases

Odesi is a Canadian social science data repository and online exploration and analysis tool. It contains 5,700+ datasets curated by academic libraries in Canada.

The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) online library of books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data covering a wide range of subjects including agriculture & food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance & investment, governance, industry & services,  social issues, migration & health, taxation and transport.  Search by keyword(s) or browse by theme or by country name.

The OECD iLibrary provides online access to all books published by the OECD, including those of the International Energy Agency, the Nuclear Energy Agency, and the European Conference of Ministers of Transport. Currently, between 150 and 200 books are published each year. The subscription includes access to publications going back to 1998.

OECD (including NEA and IEA) publishes fourteen journals and newsletters, and ten statistical periodicals. Each is available in printed form and online.

The OECD iLibrary is the full-text online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. McMaster University Libraries subscribe to all three components of the iLibrary - Books, Periodicals and Statistics. Contains international publications and statistics on a wide variety of subjects including agriculture, business, development, economics, education, employment, finance, investment, migration, science, technology, telecommunications and trade. The statistical databases allow you to build your own tables and have them exported to Excel, Beyond 20/20 and other formats.

The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.

Free online dictionary that describes the origins of English-language words.

Indexes over 4 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) freely available from over 1,100 institutions worldwide.

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Ottawa Citizen from 1845 to 2010.

The most current issues of Ottawa Citizen are available online (plain-text) via Factiva

Overton is a searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being regularly. Each document is parsed, finding references, people and key concepts, and then they are linked to the relevant news stories, academic research, think tank output and other policy. The product allows you to search these documents and see where your ideas, papers, reports and staff are being cited or mentioned. It can help you to discover where your work may be influencing or changing practice in the real world.

A collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The Oxford DNB replaces and extends the original Victorian DNB, and includes: re-written biographies of all subjects included in the Victorian DNB, reflecting new research, and providing an up-to-date assessment of their lives 16,500 biographies of new subjects from all periods. For checking facts, learning about people involved in a historical event or associated with a place, or undertaking new research into any aspect of the British past. Entries offer detailed and extensive biographical information drawn from primary and secondary sources and range from a few dozen to 35,000 words in length. With more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Oxford DNB is also the largest selection of national portraiture ever published.

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. It includes present-day meanings, along with the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Provides scholarly review articles summarizing current thinking and research in a range of subjects across the humanaities, social sciences, and sciences.  Each handbook offers in-depth introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.  McMaster's access has expanded to include all 1200 Handbooks.