Databases

Provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.

This free web site lists all substances and their properties which are reported on in the indexed Landolt-Börnstein volumes. In total, 160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers.

A full-featured scholarly resource for original research into the entire lexical content of Early Modern English. A historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.

A digital history project created by the Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project, based at Northern Illinois University. Collaborating institutions have contributed historical materials, including books, manuscripts, images, maps and other resources, to the Lincoln Project. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotation by the original author. Bibliographic details, illustrations, and errata lists are included from each of the editions used.

Speech and text databases to support corpus linguistics research. Includes the English Gigaword, 5th edition, and corpora containing Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish texts.

The Charities Listings is a searchable list of Canadian charities or other qualified donees maintained by the Canada Revenue Agency.

Collection includes works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world. All works in the database appear in English. The database includes formal treatises on criticism and aesthetics, discourse on the character or practice of specific genres, and a selection of literary biography, criticism, and history that illustrates important general arguments and precepts.

Provides the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day.

Provides critical analyses, biographies, and bibliographies for authors from every age and literary discipline. The database covers more than 130,000 novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors.  Content is pulled from several well-known print reference series including the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors.