Access is available on and off campus to current McMaster University students, faculty and staff.
Provides the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day. Key literature collections include:
- African American Poetry - early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century
- American Drama (1714–1915) - over 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth
- American Poetry - over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
- Canadian Poetry (1700-early 1900s) - 19,000 poems by 177 poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth, including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford, Archibald Lampman, Charles G. D. Roberts and Duncan Campbell Scott
- Early American Fiction (1789–1875) - full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780) - a collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles, including Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift
- English Drama - a unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
- English Poetry (1700-1780) - essentially contains the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets, drawn from 4,500 printed sources.
- English Poetry, Second Edition (700s- early 1900s) - contains 183,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, and representing more than 2,700 poets
- The Faber Poetry Library (1925-1999) - spanning Faber's 70-year history, this collection of fifty of the most influential poets of the twentieth century includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, And Fiction - includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays for the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
- Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903) - collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s
- Twentieth-Century English Poetry (1900-2000) - a collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy
Also includes a library of key criticism and reference resources such as ...
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
- Cambridge Companions to Literature (series)
- New Essays on the American Novel (series)
- biographical information and lists of works for over 1,000 of the most studied authors