Databases

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Calgary Herald from 1883 to 2010.

The most current issues of the Calgary Herald are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni

Cambridge is a not-for-profit publisher dedicated to the world-wide dissemination of knowledge across a wide range of subject areas, and currently publishes over 380 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine. As well as those journals owned by the Press itself, they publish on behalf of over 100 learned and professional societies.

Designed for universities and colleges, this collection provides full-length Canadian video programs, documentaries, feature films, short edu-clips, and podcasts. Can-CORE partners with Canadian and Indigenous filmmakers, and provides a growing collection of content from indigenous filmmakers by and about Indigenous peoples and issues. An 'Indigenous Content Only' filter can be used with any keyword or browse search.

Includes the content of nineteen Canadian reference titles in a single online resource.

Includes content from a broad range of Canadian sources including scholarly journals, magazines, reports, news, radio & television transcripts and dissertations. Useful for research on hundreds of topics in the fields of business, science and technology, medicine, humanities and the arts.

Internet Archive Canada (IAC), with its Toronto scanning centre established in 2004 on the campus of the University of Toronto, has worked with more 250 institutions, in providing their unique material(s) with open access and sharing these collections the world over, including texts, collections, images, data, videos and audio. From the Archives of the Sisters of Service to the University of Alberta, IAC has digitized more than 675,000 unique texts. McMaster's collection is also included. 

Indexes publications produced by Canadian governments (federal, provincial, territorial & municipal), government agencies & departments, research institutes and government laboratories. Full-text of reports will be available in the Microlog microfiche collection in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor).  

Searchable information about facilities, services and academic programs offered by Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada member universities as well as links, expert information, stats and deep content.

Contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.

Statistics Canada's site of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of The Chicago Defender,  one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States.

Provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. Both the 18th (2024) and 17th (2017) editions are available online. 

Indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. 

Provides a listing of federal corporations in Canada created under one of the following federal pieces of legislation:

• Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA II)
• Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Not-for profit Corporations Act (NFP)
• Cooperative created under the Canada Cooperatives Act (COOP)
• Board of trade created under the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA)
• Other corporation regulated by Corporations Canada (e.g., special act corporation)

This database does not include corporations created under financial legislation (such as financial institutions, insurance companies or loan and trust companies) or those created under provincial, territorial or other corporate legislation. Corporations created under provincial/territorial legislation can be found by consulting Canada’s Business Registries

Articles from key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text.

Criterion's goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films.  This collection provides over 1500 feature films from mainstream Hollywood studios (Paramount, Miramax, etc.) as well as documentaries, animated features, and titles from independent producers. Included films span the 20th century, from The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1919) to contemporary award-winners. 

Criterion is licensed for teaching, research, and personal use only.  All other uses, including public viewings or events or screen-sharing via Teams or Zoom, is prohibited.

Curio.ca provides streaming access to selected educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, with documentaries from television and radio, news reports, and archival material.  Both English and French language content is included.  Programs are pulled from the Doc Zone, The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, The Passionate Eye, and more.

Note:  McMaster's subscription does not include the BBC or National Geographic channel.