645 databases found
A dictionary of Sinitic characters and compounds related to East Asian cultural, political, and intellectual history.
Currently contains over 20,000 scores (from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers' output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.
Access to the recorded music requires a separate subscription; this portion of the database is not available at McMaster.
Clinical Overviews (formerly First Consult) is an evidence-based clinical information resource for healthcare professionals. Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.
Provides full-text access to medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; FIRST CONSULT point-of-care clinical monographs; PROCEDURES Consult, systematic guidance of procedures integral to the practice of medicine; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines; Patient education handouts and CME materials.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
The Cochrane Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of medical research studies. Focus is on evidence-based health care.
The COLD Database is comprised of the USPA Permafrost Alert Program, Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology, and Antarctic Bibliography.
Colonial Caribbean covers the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870. This extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Colonial Caribbean covers topics which are inextricably linked to stories of oppression and abuse. Please be aware that distressing content can be found throughout the documents and contextual essays in this resource, including graphic descriptions and first-hand accounts of physical or sexual abuse.
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
A full-text database containing working papers, journal articles, country data and maps, policy briefs, special reports, research papers, videos, books, case studies, and current analysis & commentary related to international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
Content is aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centres, and scholarly journals. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) supplies country surveys with political and economic data and maps. More EIU content is available in the EIU Viewpoint database.
Communication Source supports research on mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and other periodicals. Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,100 core titles and contains the full text for more than 700 journals.
Contains citations, abstracts and some full-text to more than 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and reports. Subject coverage includes chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications as well as civil and mechanical engineering.
This primary sources collection consists of historical documents from the British National Archives that offer perspectives on politics, diplomacy and everyday life in the German-occupied countries. Includes detailed information indexed by year and section, from the occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countries--Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland--along with a day-by-day chronology of the war, photographs and posters from The National Archives, film footage of Special Operations Executive (SOE) agents in France from the Imperial War Museum, links to related resources and three newly commissioned essays by leading experts in addition to a comprehensive introduction by Dr. Michael Stenton.
Provides full-text access to Conference Board of Canada reports and recorded webinars. Research areas covered include economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.
This primary source database provides online access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Includes official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa (with the exception of Egypt).
Contents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in Confidential Print: Africa provide insight into the modern period of European colonization of the continent.
This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. Published in two sections, Conflict in Indochina explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959:
- Crisis and Upheaval, 1959-1964
- Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979 (Coming Soon)
Comprising correspondence, maps, photographs and memoranda, this collection examines how the conflict crossed international borders and impacted the wider region. Administrative reports offer insight into the internal politics of Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia, covering key themes such as trade, economic development and increasing political instability. Documents reveal the growing intervention from foreign powers, as China and the Soviet Union sought to expand their influence over communist parties in the region.
Covers the health effects of consumer products for use by consumers, scientists, health care providers and regulatory authorities. Search or browse by products, brands, manufacturers, chemicals, product categories and product types.
A database of over 60,000 full text contributions on a broad range of women's issues, extracted from over 2,245 sources world wide, including more than 200 periodicals. Content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press. Includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe. Publication types include: journals, newsletters, pamphlets, reports; bibliographies, directories, fact sheets and guides.
Brings together openly available content related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and bioRxiv. The database will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned and new content is published.
Provides a listing of federal corporations in Canada created under one of the following federal pieces of legislation:
- Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)
- Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA II)
- Not-for-profit corporation created under the Canada Not-for profit Corporations Act (NFP)
- Cooperative created under the Canada Cooperatives Act (COOP)
- Board of trade created under the Boards of Trade Act (BOTA)
- Other corporation regulated by Corporations Canada (e.g., special act corporation)
This database does not include corporations created under financial legislation (such as financial institutions, insurance companies or loan and trust companies) or those created under provincial, territorial or other corporate legislation. Corporations created under provincial/territorial legislation can be found by consulting Canada’s Business Registries
Digitized from originals held by the Library's Research Collections. The collection contains items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references.
Contains approximately 1,200 evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada. CPG Infobase is maintained by Joule.
Articles from key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text.
An authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. It is considered the Canadian standard for drug and therapeutic information. Includes information on all Canadian drugs and any issues pulled from the market. Also includes access to the Canadian Pharmacists Association’s (CPhA) publications Therapeutic Choices, the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, and Information for Patients, in addition to Lexi-Interact. Search by condition or by drug information.
Criterion's goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films. This collection provides over 1500 feature films from mainstream Hollywood studios (Paramount, Miramax, etc.) as well as documentaries, animated features, and titles from independent producers. Included films span the 20th century, from The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1919) to contemporary award-winners.
Criterion is licensed for teaching, research, and personal use only. All other uses, including public viewings or events or screen-sharing via Teams or Zoom, is prohibited.
CNTS contains more than 200 years of annual data in Excel format from 1815 onward, for over 200 countries, with 196 variables used by social scientists, academia, government, finance and media, including demographic, political, legislative, economic and social data.
The Library's subscription to CSA On Demand includes the following areas: construction and engineering; electrical; energy; environmental; health and safety; mechanical and industrial equipment; quality and business management systems. We do not have access to the Information Technology and Telecommunication standards. The platform provides read-only access to the fulltext, and .pdfs can be downloaded on campus for offline reading.
Curio.ca provides streaming access to selected educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, with documentaries from television and radio, news reports, and archival material. Both English and French language content is included. Programs are pulled from the Doc Zone, The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, The Passionate Eye, and more.
Note: McMaster's subscription does not include the BBC or National Geographic channel.
International selection of economic, social and environmental indicators from the World Bank. Website includes over 60 databases providing data on a wide variety of subjects.