Databases

645 databases found

Coverage: 1869 to present

This database is updated regularly with newly granted patents and applications opened to public inspection. The electronically available patent information consists of patent document images and bibliographic and text data.

Coverage: 1900s to 2020

A collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups.

Coverage: 1982 to January 2019 (ceased)

Indexes publications produced by Canadian governments (federal, provincial, territorial & municipal), government agencies & departments, research institutes and government laboratories. Full-text of reports will be available in the Microlog microfiche collection in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor).  

An online directory for buyers and suppliers of industrial products and services (manufacturers, exporters, distribution and service companies) in Canada. Includes detailed product and service information from Canadian industrial and manufacturing companies of all sizes. 

Searchable information about facilities, services and academic programs offered by Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada member universities as well as links, expert information, stats and deep content.

Contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.

Provides access to comprehensive research-based cancer information and resources for cancer researchers, health professionals, patients and their families, advocates, news media and the public.

Statistics Canada's site of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.

Career Cruising is a bilingual career guidance resource that features Canadian information on hundreds of occupations, career matchmaker exercises, training & educational opportunities at universities and colleges, and career portfolio and resume builder tools. The profiles typically include job descriptions, working conditions, education and training, earnings, and links to related occupations and other resources.

Coverage: 1535-1920
Published by Readex/Newsbank and created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully catalogued and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century, expertly compiled by the curators of the extraordinary Afro-Americana Imprints collection.

The collection includes more than 100,000 pages of poems, drama, novels, stories, and related material—carefully located and secured from archives and rare book libraries, licensed from local publishing houses, and received from the authors themselves.

More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions. This literary connection, combined with the tales of survival, exile, resistance, endurance, and emigration to other parts of the Americas, makes for a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.

Coverage: 1718 to 1876

Published by Readex/Newbank and created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society, this is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region providing a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. This collection includes more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures and daily life. Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands, this resource chronicles the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items.

Founded in 1974 in Trinidad & Tobago, Banyan Productions was the first television producer of innovative and entertaining programs for, about, and by the Caribbean people and culture. Banyan’s mission was to provide the Caribbean people with the means to tell their stories to one anotherwithout influence from the outside world. Now, for the first time, those stories will be available on the Alexander Street platform.

With a mixture of history, entertainment, and social commentary, Banyan has produced a film library  covering documentary, drama, music, dance, and much more, spanning the past forty years.

Previously inaccessible in streaming format, this collection features more than 1,100 hours of edited programs along with unedited footage that will enhance study across a host of disciplines and subjects, including: Caribbean Studies, Black Studies, History, Anthropology, Sociology, Religion, Visual Arts, Dance, Music, Literature, Theatre and Media Studies.

AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling Case Files content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. The collection features the complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books (such as anatomy, pharmacology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, ob/gyn, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery), and the personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

A freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highligh concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). 

Trial

This collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.

Comprised of correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the FO 65, FO 106, FO 371 and FO 539 series, this resource forms one of the greatest existing sets of historical documents relating to this region, offering insights not only into the impact of Great Power politics on the region, but also the region’s peoples, cultures and societies.

Includes daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities as well as information on "price adjustments" such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc. The database also includes daily and monthly indexes containing information on daily and monthly index levels as well as selected other financial markets information.

CFMRC TSX highlights: 

  • expanded daily data set includes opening as well as closing data for: prices; bids; asks; trades; and volumes, amongst other information 
  • expanded monthly data set includes: betas; earnings per share; volume; and transactions, amongst other data 
  • expanded daily and monthly index data sets which include: a selection of interest and exchange rates; TMX Group indices; new under- and over- $2.00 indices, as well as other data

Includes seven browsable and searchable database of traditional ancient Chinese texts from the Pre-Han (pre 220 AD) up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD).

ChemDraw a leading chemical drawing application. McMaster subscribes to ChemDraw Professional, with tools to quickly create chemically intelligent, publication-ready chemical structures and reactions, or experimental notes and write-ups. Beyond a full set of chemical structure essentials (e.g., rings, bonds, chains, atoms, and functional group tools), ChemDraw Professional also includes 3D clean-up and 3D display improvements,1H and 13C NMR predictions, Name-to-Structure and Structure-to-Name functions, and integrations to SciFinder, Reaxys, and SciFinder-n. Peptide and nucleic acid chemists can also take advantage of the HELM Toolbar to easily represent biomolecules.

McMaster users need to be registered to download the tool and access the cloud applicaitons. Please use the Quick Start Guide to learn how to quickly register and activate your copy of ChemDraw and ChemOffice+ Cloud.

Coverage: 1987 to the present

Key scientific and trade literature are scanned for information on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in the chemical and related industries. Topics covered include health and safety, chemical and biological hazards, plant safety, legislation, protective equipment and storage, all relating to the chemical and allied industries.

Search across ten chemistry dictionaries and databases, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. 

Combined chemical dictionary -- Dictionary of commonly cited compounds -- Dictionary of drugs -- Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds -- Dictionary of natural products -- Dictionary of organic compounds -- Dictionary of Food Compounds -- Dictionary of Marine Natural Products -- Polymers, a property database -- Properties of organic compounds 

Coverage: 1909 to 1975

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of The Chicago Defender,  one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States.

Provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. Both the 17th (2017) and 16th (2010) editions are available online. 

Coverage: 1793-1980

This primary sources database provides a wide variety of original English-language source material relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Includes manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies, letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors' descriptions of the Boxer War, diaries and personal photographs, extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, over 400 colour paintings, maps and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as countless photographs, sketches and ephemeral items, depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events.

This primary source database, of interest to scholars of global history and missology, provides original materials from the CMS, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical organization.  It includes documents related to missions to Africa, the Americas, East Asia, India, and the Middle East, Missions to Women, and records of the CMS.

Highlights include:

  • Central records of the CMS and papers of key individuals associated with it
  • Records of the the Loochoo Naval Mission (1843-1864), the first recorded Anglican and Protestant mission in Japan
  • Archive of the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India and the East
  • Records of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society
Coverage: 1804 to 2009

Documenting Anglican missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the Church Missionary Society Periodicals offer a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters. 

Module I features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS), including the Mid-Africa Ministry, between 1804 and 2009. 

Module II focuses on the CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. 

Includes images, interactive maps and chronologies, and biographies.

Coverage: 1981 to the present

CINAHL indexes almost 3,000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines (e.g. respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.). Also indexed are: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full-text is included for some journals as well as legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Pre-CINAHL refers to records that are not yet 100% indexed. These records are in process and do not have subject headings applied.

Indexes journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies (primarily in Japanese), with broad subject coverage including the humanities, law, medicine, pure sciences, engineering, and economics. 

Coverage: 1872 to the present

Indexes all ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) publications, providing citations to journal articles, conference papers, books, standards and manuals. Indexing for journals goes back to 1958, and book records are complete from the early 1900s onwards.  McMaster subscribes to ASCE's journals, but you will need to check the library's catalogue to access the full-text publications.