Databases

The Web of Science platform provides access to the following products and databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index and Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Policy Citation Index, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record.

Consists of several separate multi-disciplinary citation indexes (i.e., Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus) that can be searched independently or in combination. It ​indexes scholarly journals (including open-access titles) books and conference proceedings in all subject areas.

Covers prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. Includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Gives access to more than 2,400 primary documents, as well as books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women

Includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements. The collection provides insight into how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

Examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, it focuses on feminist activism in relation to development, through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.

Created by the Inter-Parliamentary Union in cooperation with the UN Development Programme, this database contains citations and some abstracts for 650 titles, including books, articles in books, periodical articles, and other organizational or governmental publications. Search by keyword, document type, country, organization, subject, language, year and/or periodical title.

A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The range of genres and topics covered makes it a  useful resource for teaching and research, providing a view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period. 

Provides archival runs of leading women’s consumer magazines dating from the late 19th through to the 21st century, documenting evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Includes titles such as Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Seventeen. All content, including advertisements, is fully searchable. 

Includes high-resolution images of the pages, articles, advertisements, and covers of Women's Wear Daily, along  with searchable text and indexing. This trade publication is one of the fashion industry's most influential reads covering key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Subject coverage includes retail business, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, marketing and advertising.

A digital collection offering access to the runs of more than 100 publications from Archie Comics. It’s one of the longest-running, best-known comic staples, spanning the early 1940s to 2020. Alongside the flagship title, Archie, other prominent titles, which have pervaded wider popular culture, include Sabrina: The Teenage Witch, Josie and the Pussycats, Betty & Veronica, and Jughead.

WorldCat is the world's largest library catalogue, merging the holdings of over 72,000 institutions worldwide. Includes records for books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. McMaster's holdings will be listed first. Items not in our library can be requested via Interlibrary Loans.