Databases

5 databases found starting with V X HistoryX

Coverage: 1968 to the present

One of the most extensive and complete archives of television news. Since 1968, the website has recorded, indexed, and preserved network television news for research, review, and study.  The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). NOTE: Video clips are not available online. Only asbstracts (or summaries) of televsion news are available to everyone.

Coverage: 1830-1930

The goal of the Victorian Women's Studies Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML) and/or Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) Guidelines. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. 

This online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets, excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England, includes the following elements: Tablets - a searchable online edition of the tablets (volumes I and II); Exhibition - an introduction to the tablets and their context; Reference - a guide to aspects of the tablets content; Help - navigation and using the site. Also available are highlights from the tablets.

New

The Visual History Archive, created by USC Shoah Foundation–the Institute for Visual History and Education, is the Institute’s collection of audiovisual interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Contains more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. The interviews have been conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages. Testimonies have index terms at one-minute segments. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.

Provides links, with annotations, to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources.