Best Bets for Physics and Astronomy
Not sure where to begin? Try these first.
Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.
Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.
Learn to master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.
Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.
A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 14 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable. ADS also tracks also citations and usage of its records to provide advanced discovery and evaluation capabilities and provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including articles available from publisher's websites, astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives.
Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.
Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 30,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine. This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML). McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site.
Scitation is the online home of more than 100 journals from AIP (American Institute of Physics), APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. Includes SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) Web, a searchable database of physics, astronomy and engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Covers subjects in the areas of behavioral sciences, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, medicine, and physics & astronomy.
SpringerLINK service offers full-text access to more than 3,000 e-journals (and other content types) covering disciplines in science, technology, health, engineering, environment, economics and law. McMaster has purchased the Springer Historical Archives with back issue coverage from v.1 onwards for most journals.