Databases

SAE Mobilus is a platform hosting content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), including SAE standards, technical reports, journ

Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

Full-text for over 160,000 e-books from commercial publishers, including titles from Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, and the Gibson Canadian publishers collection.  Also includes approximately 400,000 e-books that are open access or public domain titles.

Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 30,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine.  This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML).  McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site. 

Includes over 30 full-text reference works and encyclopedias published by Elsevier.

A multimedia database that combines recently published social work books along with documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging issues faced by social workers. Areas covered include children and families, older adults, crisis and trauma, immigration, diversity, school and social work, substance abuse, mental health, and health care.

The most extensive database available on optics and photonics research, with more than 500,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.  Our subscription includes conference proceedings from 1962 onwards, full-text for 10 journals, and some 200 e-books.

Some Proceedings volumes are not available online, either because they were not published, or because SPIE does not have the electronic rights. 

Covers subjects in the areas of behavioral sciences, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, medicine, and physics & astronomy.

A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods for experiments. It is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine and life sciences, bringing together content from Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers and Springer Protocols.

Comprehensive and regularly updated, providing full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Stahl.

A digital library of 50 to 100 page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topics, providing concise introductions to new fields and methods of staying current on developments at university, corporate, and government labs. Individual titles are also accessible via the library catalogue.