Databases

Provides full-text scholarly editions of selected philosophers and English literary writers. Works include published and unpublished texts, articles, essays, and correspondence, in both the original language, and, where required, in English translation. Contents include classical works in philosophy, history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history, and German studies.

Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO contains over 700 journals spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. McMaster's subscription includes PAO collections 1-10.

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.. Subject coverage includes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy and social philosophy. Geographic coverage is global with publications coming from more than 135 countries. Includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902.

Full-text access to 51 Philosophy journals including Augustinian Studies, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, Dialogue, Idealistic Studies, International Philosophical Quarterly, Journal of Philosophical Research, Leibniz Review, The Monist, New Nietzsche Studies, The Owl of Minerva, Philosophical Topics, Philosophiques, Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, Proceedings of the American Catholic Philosophical Association,  Radical Philosophy Today, Review of Metaphysics, Southern Journal of Philosophpy, Teaching Philosophy and Theoria.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors many sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

A collection of over 670 full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Individual journal titles are accessible through the library catalogue (Omni).

Cross-search over 50 indexing, abstracting, and full-text databases in a range of subjects.

Indexes over 4 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at colleges and universities worldwide. 

Contains thousands of full-text e-books across a variety of disciplines. To display titles accessible to McMaster users, use the "Book Status" filter and select "Owned and subscribed to by my library." 

Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue and in the standard ProQuest databases platform.