Databases

Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. 

The documents in this collection on Palestine and Israel are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. This archive traces the vitally important period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine. Documents address the role of the Security Council and General Assembly of the United Nations and that of the United States in the creation of the state of Israel. Included here are the Palestine Reference files of Dean Rusk and Robert McClintock, as well as documents from the Mission of the United States in Tel-Aviv. The years 1955-1959 contain instructions and correspondences of the U.S. Department of State. Most of the State Department's internal documentation as well as correspondence between the State Department and other federal departments and agencies, in addition to documents from private individuals and organizations, are included in the central files.

The Palestine Statehood Committee Records, 1939-1949, "Concerning the campaigns for a Jewish Army; to save the Jewish people of Europe and the establishment of a Hebrew Republic in Palestine" consist of correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation. Among these papers are selected materials spanning the years 1939-1942 on the activities of similar groups in Great Britain and France: the British League for a Free Palestine, and the Ligue francaise pour une Palestine libre. The Committee's goals included the creation of an independent Jewish army to fight the Axis powers, the rescue and repatriation of European Jews in Palestine, and the re-establishment of a Jewish nation in an independent Palestine.

The collection is comprised of over 100 pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution of 1848 held by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).

Provides "bird's-eye" views of nineteenth and early twentieth century cities and towns across the United States and Canada. Each map contains a detailed look at architecture and urban planning of the period, and allows users to zoom in on particular areas.

Includes digitized New Zealand  and Pacific newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.  

An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.

Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis and insights on industries, consumers, economies, and companies in approximately 200 countries worldwide.

Provides full-text scholarly editions of selected philosophers and English literary writers. Works include published and unpublished texts, articles, essays, and correspondence, in both the original language, and, where required, in English translation. Contents include classical works in philosophy, history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history, and German studies.

Free patent search tool that when given a patent number, will return an image of the patent as a single PDF file. NOTE: Easier to use for images than the USPTO (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office) website which requires that a browser plug-in be downloaded.

Covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups, including: physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Includes international and national patent collections. Search 71 million patent documents including 3.4 million published international patent applications (PCT).

Digitized from originals held by McMaster University Library's Research Collections. This primary source collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy.

Provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

The PEN System was developed by Dietitians of Canada, with input from thought leaders in dietetic practice, knowledge translation and technology. The database provides ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition. It offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice.

Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for over 180 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most Penn World Table countries at the GDP level.

Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO contains over 700 journals spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. McMaster's subscription includes PAO collections 1-10.

Interactive database linking texts and translations of major works covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. 

Contains more than 21,000 diagrams for non-organic systems, including those published in all 21 hard-copy volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program (formerly titled Phase Diagrams for Ceramists).  The database additionally contains over 1,200 new phase diagrams labeled as “Volume 15” that are only available in electronic format.

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.. Subject coverage includes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy and social philosophy. Geographic coverage is global with publications coming from more than 135 countries. Includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902.

Full-text access to 51 Philosophy journals including Augustinian Studies, Canadian Journal of Philosophy, Dialogue, Idealistic Studies, International Philosophical Quarterly, Journal of Philosophical Research, Leibniz Review, The Monist, New Nietzsche Studies, The Owl of Minerva, Philosophical Topics, Philosophiques, Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, Proceedings of the American Catholic Philosophical Association,  Radical Philosophy Today, Review of Metaphysics, Southern Journal of Philosophpy, Teaching Philosophy and Theoria.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors many sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

This unique group of 4,700 photographs records a broad range of artists working in the United States during the first three quarters of the twentieth century. Created by the fine art photography firm Peter A. Juley & Son (active 1896-1975). Highlights of the collection include portraits of Thomas Hart Benton, Selma Burke, Alexander Calder, Edward Hopper, Frida Kahlo, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Jacob Lawrence, Barnett Newman, Diego Rivera and Augustus Saint-Gaudens. Many of the images show artists in their studios or at home with their families and offer interesting glimpses into the artistic and social climate in which they worked. The collection also contains hundreds of group photographs documenting activities at the National Academy of Design and Art Students League in New York City as well as the summer art colonies at Provincetown, Old Lyme, Woodstock, and Ogunquit.

Provides the text of over 170 plays originally published by Playwrights Canada Press after 1984.  While located in Ontario, the Press is proud of its list of published playwrights that stretches from Newfoundland to British Columbia and the Yukon. Playwrights Canada Press also publishes French plays by Canadian authors in English translation, and includes theatre for young audiences.

Produced by Coherent Digital, Policy Commons is the world’s largest database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. It includes over a million pages of premium content from leading publishers and restored from organizations that have disappeared.

The Policy Commons interface offers fulltext searching in addition to 3,400 topics tags and filters for document type, organization name and type, publication language, country of publication, and publication date. It also provides a searchable database of more than 16,000 policy organizations worldwide.

Covers U.S. public policy issues with indexing and linking to the output of over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other similar organizations.

This archive provides insight into how communist, socialist, and Far-Left groups and figures saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events that occurred in the twentieth century. The primary sources in this collection come from multiple regions, offering the opportunity for a comparative study of left-wing thinking and government ideology, and connect researchers to firsthand narratives to explore left-wing political radicalism and extremism across Europe, America, Latin America, and more. Collections include documents and correspondence that shed light on the political ideologies of Marxism-Leninism, Maoism, Trotskyism, and anarchism. Researchers can analyze the world’s response to major extremist events, like the Russian Revolution, the rise of the Soviet Union, and the Red Scare.

Covers hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Topics include comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and more. It also includes thousands of full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.

Provides simultaneous access to the databases PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.

Collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Includes an array of sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and advertising ephemera.