Databases

An online catalogue of human genes and genetic disorders. It is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain links to other genetics resources.

A guide to languages, alphabets, syllabaries and other writing systems. Also contains details of many of the languages written with those writing systems and links to a wide range of language-related resources, such as fonts, online dictionaries and online language courses.

Free online dictionary that describes the origins of English-language words.

OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

A  textual database that contains 1960 vernacular texts (22.3 million words, 456,000 unique forms) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers. The OVI database was created to aid in the compilation of an historical dictionary of the Italian language, the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini, (portions of which are now available online). The fully-searchable ItalNet implementation of the OVI database presented here has been produced in order to enable scholars around the world to benefit from this rich textual resource

An introductory hypertext for undergraduate students and those wanting to review concepts in organometallic chemistry. 

Orlando documents the part women have played in the development of literature and includes biographical and writing career entries on over 1,200 writers, more than eight hundred and fifty of them British women. It also includes selected non-British or international women writers, and British and international men, whose writing was an important, sometimes a shaping, element in a particular writing climate. Entries are contextualized with thirty thousand dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).

A global online source for high quality and timely orthopaedic-only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts. It utilizes a multi-step process to review, evaluate and summarize research studies, while including critical implications in its Advanced Clinical Evidence (ACE) Reports.

Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, the Bibliographies identify the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.  McMaster subscribes to the following subjects:  African American Studies (New), Anthropology, Atlantic History (New), Biblical Studies, Geography, International Relations, Jewish Studies, Literary & Cultural Theory, Philosophy, Political Science, Social Work, and Sociology.

A collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The Oxford DNB replaces and extends the original Victorian DNB, and includes: re-written biographies of all subjects included in the Victorian DNB, reflecting new research, and providing an up-to-date assessment of their lives 16,500 biographies of new subjects from all periods. For checking facts, learning about people involved in a historical event or associated with a place, or undertaking new research into any aspect of the British past. Entries offer detailed and extensive biographical information drawn from primary and secondary sources and range from a few dozen to 35,000 words in length. With more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Oxford DNB is also the largest selection of national portraiture ever published.

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. It includes present-day meanings, along with the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Provides scholarly review articles summarizing current thinking and research in a range of subjects across the humanaities, social sciences, and sciences.  Each handbook offers in-depth introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.  McMaster's access has expanded to include all 1200 Handbooks.

Gateway to music research and access point for Oxford music reference titles. Currently allows cross-searching of: 

• Grove Music Online
  • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  • New Grove Dictionary of Opera
  • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
• Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed., Colin Larkin, ed.
• Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev, Michael Kennedy, ed., Joyce Bourne, assoc. ed.
• Oxford Companion to Music, Alison Latham, ed.