Databases

3 databases found starting with M X Primary SourcesX

Coverage: 1937 to 1967

The Mass Observation project collected information about everyday life in Britain during the mid-twentieth century, reflecting attitudes, behaviors, and public opinion. Created by three British researchers as a personal research project, its focus changed as it served the government during the Second World War and then emerged as a market research organization. The findings continue to be valued for their insight into British society, although sometimes criticized for the self-selecting methodology used to collect the data.

The online database provides over 2,000 File Reports (top-level summaries), Day Surveys from 1937-38, Diaries from 1939-67, and a range of Topic collections including: Household Matters and Household Budgeting, 1939-1950; Juvenile Delinquency; Korea, 1950; Radio Listening, 1939-1948; World Outlook, 1945-1950, Film; Reading Habits; Dreams; Religion; Victory Celebrations, and Capital Punishment.

Coverage: 1200 to 1500

This primary sources database presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia; it also includes accounts of travel to and through the Holy Land.

Coverage: 1857 to the present | Recent covers January 1, 2011 to 3 months ago | Historical covers January 2, 1857 to December 31, 2010

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Montreal Gazette from January 2, 1857 to 3 months ago.

The most current issues of The Montreal Gazette are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni.