Databases starting with E

8 databases found for: Primary Sources X
Coverage:
16th - early 20th century

Early Canadiana Online (ECO) provides access to over 80,000 rare books, journals, and government publications printed in the 1600s up to the 1940s, giving documentary evidence of Canada's early days.  Content is in some 21 languages including English, French, 10 First Nations languages, and several European languages.

This primary source database began in 1997 as a pilot project to create an online digital library.  Over three years, 550,000 pages of text were scanned from CIHM's historical microfiche collection.  This part of the collection remains freely accessible to the public.

Contains nearly 1500 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean, from 1600 onwards.

Coverage:
1450 to 1700

Provides access to works printed in Europe before 1701, bringing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe are included. McMaster has access to Collection 3, 5, 6, 10 and 12 of Early European Books.

Coverage:
1843 to 2015

For over 170 years, The Economist has published timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. It covers the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Included in the archive are full-colour images, covers, advertisements, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue from 1843 to 2015.

The most recent issues of The Economist are available in print and online via several Gale and ProQuest databases

Provides original German documents from the London School of Economics and Political Science collection, including:

  • Statistics of the Third Reich analysed, 1933-1944
  • Monatliche Nachweise über den auswärtigen Handel Deutschlands (January 1933-June 1939)
  • Der Aussenhandel Deutschlands Monatliche Nachweise (July 1939); and
  • Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands (August 1939-1944).

These publications illustrate a number of major topics, including: the importance of German trade with Eastern Europe; effect of new trade treaties with Southeastern European states concluded in 1934 and 1935; Germany's economic offensive beginning in1934; growth of a "command economy" and the requirements of the Rearmament Program; balance of payments problem; and the defeat of "the traditionalists" with the dismissal of Schacht and Neurath and the appointment of Ribbentrop. Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands is particularly important as it provides a thorough breakdown of German foreign trade by commodity, volume and value on a monthly basis. The December issue of each year gives a final listing of annual figures.

Coverage:
1492-

This primary sources database provides images of original documents related to the British Empire. The content is structured around five thematic sections: Cultural Contacts; Literature; The Visual Empire; Religion; and Race, Class, Colonialism and Imperialism.

Coverage:
1880 to 2015

Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews. Subject coverage includes the film industry, music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues, theatre, television, and radio. McMaster has access to the Cinema, Film and Televsion collection (Parts 1 & 2) and the Music, Radio and Stage collection.

Coverage:
1900s to the present

Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries. Provides an understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. 

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email