Databases

Designed for universities and colleges, this collection provides full-length Canadian video programs, documentaries, feature films, short edu-clips, and podcasts. Can-CORE partners with Canadian and Indigenous filmmakers, and provides a growing collection of content from indigenous filmmakers by and about Indigenous peoples and issues. An 'Indigenous Content Only' filter can be used with any keyword or browse search.

Documents the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s. The Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art (CCCA) Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress with the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad.

The CCCA is also taking on additional projects containing information that informs and lays the groundwork for the core project. A wide range of previously hard to access material [images, texts, media works, and related ephemera]from a variety of sources across Canada is being assembled into the fully searchable, bilingual, database.

Currently contents: 54,000+ images and 600+ video and audio clips by 600+ artists and designers; and 1,600+ texts by 200+ writers and curators.

Internet Archive Canada (IAC), with its Toronto scanning centre established in 2004 on the campus of the University of Toronto, has worked with more 250 institutions, in providing their unique material(s) with open access and sharing these collections the world over, including texts, collections, images, data, videos and audio. From the Archives of the Sisters of Service to the University of Alberta, IAC has digitized more than 675,000 unique texts. McMaster's collection is also included. 

Career Cruising is a bilingual career guidance resource that features Canadian information on hundreds of occupations, career matchmaker exercises, training & educational opportunities at universities and colleges, and career portfolio and resume builder tools. The profiles typically include job descriptions, working conditions, education and training, earnings, and links to related occupations and other resources.

Founded in 1974 in Trinidad & Tobago, Banyan Productions was the first television producer of innovative and entertaining programs for, about, and by the Caribbean people and culture. Banyan’s mission was to provide the Caribbean people with the means to tell their stories to one anotherwithout influence from the outside world. Now, for the first time, those stories will be available on the Alexander Street platform.

With a mixture of history, entertainment, and social commentary, Banyan has produced a film library  covering documentary, drama, music, dance, and much more, spanning the past forty years.

Previously inaccessible in streaming format, this collection features more than 1,100 hours of edited programs along with unedited footage that will enhance study across a host of disciplines and subjects, including: Caribbean Studies, Black Studies, History, Anthropology, Sociology, Religion, Visual Arts, Dance, Music, Literature, Theatre and Media Studies.

A freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

Provides full-text access to medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; FIRST CONSULT point-of-care clinical monographs; PROCEDURES Consult, systematic guidance of procedures integral to the practice of medicine; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines; Patient education handouts and CME materials.

A full-text database containing working papers, journal articles, country data and maps,  policy briefs, special reports, research papers, videos, books, case studies, and current analysis & commentary related to international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. 

Content is aggregated from 300 international publishing institutions including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centres, and scholarly journals. The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) supplies country surveys with political and economic data and maps. More EIU content is available in the EIU Viewpoint database.

Provides full-text access to Conference Board of Canada reports and recorded webinars. Research areas covered include economic trends, organizational performance and public policy.

Criterion's goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films.  This collection provides over 1500 feature films from mainstream Hollywood studios (Paramount, Miramax, etc.) as well as documentaries, animated features, and titles from independent producers. Included films span the 20th century, from The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1919) to contemporary award-winners. 

Criterion is licensed for teaching, research, and personal use only.  All other uses, including public viewings or events or screen-sharing via Teams or Zoom, is prohibited.

Curio.ca provides streaming access to selected educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, with documentaries from television and radio, news reports, and archival material.  Both English and French language content is included.  Programs are pulled from the Doc Zone, The Nature of Things, The Fifth Estate, Marketplace, The Passionate Eye, and more.

Note:  McMaster's subscription does not include the BBC or National Geographic channel.