Databases

7 databases found starting with A X LiteratureX

Best Bets for Literature

Not sure where to begin? Try these first.

Coverage: 1980 to the present, but varies by title

A multi-disciplinary database that covers millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including podcasts, transcripts and videos.

Coverage: 1750 to 1900

Includes nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Coverage: 1600 to 900

Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

Coverage: 1892 to the present

Compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association, ABELL is a key bibliographical source for English studies.  It indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, essay collections and dissertations published worldwide on English language and literature.

Coverage: 1200s to the present

The ARTFL Project is a full-text database consisting of over 2700 French language texts from the 13th to the 20th centuries including texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences. The database includes texts by French women writers, Provençal poetry, Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, French dictionaries from the 17th - 20th centuries, and Bayle's monumental Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th edition, 1740).

Coverage: 1976 to the present

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities; it fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It contains a current total of over 2.5 million records. Subjects covered include archaeology, art, architecture, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre. As of January 2000, the Arts & Humanities Index contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.

 

This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.