Databases

SAE Mobilus is a platform hosting content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), including SAE standards, technical reports, journ

Contains information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, pulled from over 750 handbooks, encyclopedias, and journal articles. Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

Learn about research methods and research design through stories from researchers in the field and their critique of their own research articles.

Learn to master quantitative and qualitative data analysis with step-by-step guides and sample data.

Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts.

The Scholars GeoPortal is a geospatial data platform providing access to large-scale GIS datasets and over 3 million Ontario aerial images and orthophotos. It offers powerful search, visualization, and mapping tools that allow users to view, analyze, and download data. Content includes land-based vector data (e.g., soil, water, cultural features), provincial and municipal data, census geography, and licensed datasets from Ontario academic libraries. The platform also features enhanced open data and historical digitized maps, including topographic maps from OCUL map collections and collaborative mapping projects.

Contains over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.

Provides online access to over 4,000 journals and 30,000 books published by Elsevier. Strong collections in the social sciences, pure and applied sciences, engineering, and medicine.  This service allows you to browse or search the journals and access full text articles (PDF & HTML).  McMaster has access to many, but not all titles at this site. 

Scopus provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide. Delivering a comprehensive overview ofresearch output in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Covers subjects in the areas of behavioral sciences, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, medicine, and physics & astronomy.

SpringerLINK service offers full-text access to more than 3,000 e-journals (and other content types) covering disciplines in science, technology, health, engineering, environment, economics and law. McMaster has purchased the Springer Historical Archives with back issue coverage from v.1 onwards for most journals.

A digital library of 50 to 100 page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topics, providing concise introductions to new fields and methods of staying current on developments at university, corporate, and government labs. Individual titles are also accessible via the library catalogue.