Databases

Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO contains over 700 journals spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. McMaster's subscription includes PAO collections 1-10.

Cross-search over 50 indexing, abstracting, and full-text databases in a range of subjects.

Contains thousands of full-text e-books across a variety of disciplines. To display titles accessible to McMaster users, use the "Book Status" filter and select "Owned and subscribed to by my library." 

Individual titles are also listed in McMaster's library catalogue and in the standard ProQuest databases platform.

Provides full-text articles for 140 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.

Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-1 through DSM-5),  the American Journal of Psychiatry and other psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.

Eleven online videos that feature demonstrations of a therapist conducting supervision with a student and an interview with the experts, conducted by hosts Hanna Levenson and Arpana G. Inman. An excellent resource for students learning how to supervise, as well as practitioners seeking quick references to improve their own supervision skills.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Anyone with access to the video library can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles. It allows viewers to go straight to the heart of clinical practice as it is done by today's leading practitioners in North America. The database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. This is a resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and for education about psychology and related areas in social work.

Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics. Covers over 1,800 international professional journals, as well as books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Beginning in 2001, many citations include references, their abstracts, and links to cited references.

The PTSDpubs bibliographic database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, includes citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other psychological effects of trauma.

Multidisciplinary database that brings together or links to full-text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.