Databases

8 databases found starting with M X ArticlesX

Coverage: 1905 to 2015

Provides cover-to-cover online access to the prominent Canadian news magazine from its first issue in 1905 through 2015. Published weekly through much of its run, the magazine conveyed both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects of interest to Canadians.  Front and back covers are included, along with all advertisements, providing insight into 20th century social history.

Coverage: 1940 to the present

Provides searching of over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications on the web. Full-text of all reviews in Mathematical Reviews is available from 1940 to the present. The database also provides active links from reviews to the full-text of more than 120,000 online articles in over 190 journals (online journals that McMaster already has access to including those published by Academic Press and Springer-Verlag which are other CNSLP licensed services).

Coverage: Ovid, 1946 to the present | Web of Science, 1950 to the present

The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PubMed.

Coverage: 1845 to 2015

Provides digital access ( full color page-image format) to the backfiles of the following six major US and UK men’s-interest consumer magazines covering contemporary issues and trends in history and society, masculinity, sex roles, literature, sports, fashion, popular culture, entertainment, and more.

  • All Sports Illustrated Weekly (1919 to 1930)
  • Argosy (1882 to 1978)
  • Esquire [UK edition] (1991 to 2015)
  • M: The Civilized Man (1983 to 1992)
  • National Police Gazette (1845 to 1977)
  • Sports Budget (1923 to 1939)

Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or the publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some coverage gaps (issues / pages).

A growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and an archive of materials from brain science conferences. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work. New materials are added on a regular basis, and these additions are announced in the CogNet News service.

Coverage: 1926 to the present

Includes over 2 million citations covering literature, language, film, linguistics and folklore. Provides access to scholarly articles in over 4,400 journals; also covers relevant books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings and bibliographies. The database also has an identifiable subset of more than 77,000 records that constitute the JSTOR subfile. This consists of citation records for documents in JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection. The documents date back as far as 1881 and contain direct links to the full-text articles on the JSTOR website.

Coverage: 1867 to 2 weeks ago | Recent covers January 3, 2011 to 2 weeks ago | Historical covers June 3, 1867 to December 31, 2010

Search or browse issues (full page and article images in PDF) of the Montreal Gazette from 1867 to 2 weeks ago.

The most current issues of The Montreal Gazette are available online (plain-text) via Factiva and Nexis Uni.

Coverage: 1970 to the present

A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.

Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Geographical and Subject Headings. The thoroughness of indexing and subject heading research, along with comprehensive coverage of the music field, makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both the novice scholar and the experienced academic.

Health Sciences Library Databases

New and Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for future subscription.