Databases

6 databases found starting with H X Primary SourcesX

Coverage: 1867 to the present

Includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition). The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. The magazine covers over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers,stylists, and illustrators of the period.

Coverage: 1950 to 2015

Includes the backfiles of the following nine major US and UK consumer magazines devoted to health, fitness, exercise, nutrition, and medicine, charting trends in these areas from the mid-20th century to the 21st.

  • Flex [US] (1983 to 2015)
  • Men’s Fitness [US] (1985 to 2015)
  • Men’s Fitness [UK] (1999 to 2015)
  • Men’s Health [US] (1986 to 2015)
  • Prevention [US] (1950 to 2015)
  • Women’s Health [US](2005 to 2015)
  • Women’s Health Activist [US] (1975 to 2015)
  • Women’s Health Weekly [US] (1994 to 2015)
  • Zest [UK] (1994 to 2014)

Coverage is from issue 1 through to 2015 (or publication ceased date), with issues scanned from cover to cover, although there will be some small coverage gaps (issues / pages).

Heritage is a growing collection of digitized Canadian primary source documents, chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s.  Featured collections include:

Coverage: 1958 to 1981

Includes primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on some of the most widely studied topics in American history.

Coverage: 1801-

HCPP provides a vital historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world, providing detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries.  The database includes House of Commons parliamentary papers from 1803 onwards, Hansard (Commons and Lords), Diplomatic and Consular Reports (1887-1916), and more.

Coverage: 1900 to 2010

Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.